Author Topic: Why PWM waveform has negative oscillation between pulses when should be 0V  (Read 818 times)

Offline alanvernonTopic starter

I am new to oscilloscopes

I just bought a Hantek DSO2D15 to try and resolve an issue with a laser driver board. The laser driver is controlled via a 24V PWM fan control supply from an Ender 3 Pro.  My first step was looking at the PWM supply.

The PWM seem to be working correctly, in that, adjusting the fan speed changes the size of the pulse.
The problem is between the pulses instead of going to 0V a sinusoidal shape wave of primarily negative voltage occurs. See Photo 1.

What is causing this?

If I connect the oscilloscope in reverse I actually get the correct shape with no sinusoidal shape wave between pulses. See Photo 2.

Why the difference when connected in reverse?

Any help will be appreciated

Alan Vernon

Why the difference when connected in reverse?

Any help will be appreciated

Alan Vernon

Offline Terry Bites

• Super Contributor
  • Recovering Electrical Engineer
That looks like it might Ground Bounce. The ground impedance may be too high either in your sytem or in your probe.
Check your scope probe configuration. Use the barrel probe tip https://www.electronicspecifier.com/products/power/oscilloscope-probing-techniques-for-measuring-power-supply-ripple

Hi Terry

Thank you for the feedback. I read the article and shortened the ground loop to tip and barrel but sorry to say it made no difference in amplitude or wavelength of  the unwanted oscillations.
One other test I had done previously was to drop the 24V down to 5V using resistors and a Zener diode. This worked perfectly for the pulses however the amplitude and wave length of these unwanted oscillations never changed.

Appreciate any other suggestions.

Thanks

Alan Vernon

Online bdunham7

• Super Contributor
Try using the math function (CH1 - CH2) with two probes and no ground clips.