Author Topic: Circuit building blocks for absolute beginners?  (Read 9389 times)

Offline ShockTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Circuit building blocks for absolute beginners?
« on: August 07, 2016, 03:10:20 am »
PLEASE READ MY POSTS FOR CLARIFICATION.

Am introducing an adult absolute beginner to electronics and am looking for a book or magazine series that covers very basic circuit building blocks, with a description of what is occurring, similar to this website: http://www.opencircuits.com/Basic_Circuit_Building_Blocks

Ideally something that would explain what each components role in the circuit is. If it had a section on common uses for each component that could work as well.

After we have worked through that...

Is there any other suitable reading that will combine the above knowledge and step a beginner, through the operational theory of devices such as an AM radio, regulated power supplies, tone generators etc but from a minimalist and non math heavy or programming approach?

Something like what was covered in Dick Smith and Heathkit kitsets, generic as possible and suitable for beginners.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2016, 01:24:19 am by Shock »
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 189, 87V, 117, 112   >>> WANTED STUFF <<<
Oszilloskopen: Lecroy 9314, Phillips PM3065, Tektronix 2215a, 314

The following users thanked this post: kazan417

Offline NottheDan

• Frequent Contributor

• Super Contributor
Re: Circuit building blocks for absolute beginners?
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2016, 12:23:35 pm »
This one? http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/education/

No unless there is something I'm missing on that site.

I'm after actual circuit building blocks as described in my post, rather than electronics/physics theory.

Offline alsetalokin4017

• Super Contributor
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2016, 09:07:56 pm »