Author Topic: Why would you have a bench multimeter over a high spec handheld one?  (Read 2413 times)

Offline dongeoTopic starter

Hi All, I'm new to this electronics stuff, considering the utility of a handheld multimeter, is there an advantage to having a bench one? I've googled it but I don't quite understand the advantages in a practical sense, are they more accurate or something? Or are there features in there you just can't get in a portable one?

Thanks,

Don

Online Zero999

• Super Contributor
Re: Why would you have a bench multimeter over a high spec handheld one?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2020, 09:20:55 am »
The main one for me is not having to replace the batteries.

Offline MosherIV

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2020, 09:26:50 am »
Yes, usually bench dmm are higher accuracy than hand held ones.
They start with 4.5 digit and go right upto 8.5 digit.
They also have better connectivity to computers so they are often used to log measurments.

Offline wizard69

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2020, 09:43:54 am »
There are some really good quick answers:
  • Better user interface
  • Better specs
  • Networking / PC interfacing
  • No batteries that leak when ever they feel like it.

Offline jogri

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2020, 11:28:01 am »
For me, it is just more convenient to use my bench DMM compared to a handheld: You don't have to find a position on your bench for your DMM, worry about it tipping over (especially when you rotate the dial), having to put it on your DUT because the leads are too short etc...

If you have a bench DMM on a shelf above your DUT you just plug your two leads in and look up when you want to see the measurement. Also, bench DMMs have features like 4 wire measurements and are usually way cheaper than handhelds (a 6.5 digit bench DMM will set you back 200 bucks while a handheld 6.5 digit easily costs over 800 bucks).