Author Topic: Wildly incorrect readings on a new SDS1104X-E  (Read 2193 times)

Offline notlegatoTopic starter

Wildly incorrect readings on a new SDS1104X-E
« on: April 17, 2018, 07:51:20 pm »
Hey, I just got a Siglent SDS1104X-E in the mail from a retailer and it's supposedly been calibrated in January and tested by the seller (mostly stress-testing tbf), but
while I'm checking it out, I notice that all the voltage readings are *very* off.

I'm new to digital oscilloscopes, so I'm not sure if it's something I'm doing, but when measuring a couple batteries, first with a multimeter, then the scope, I got:

9.4V on multimeter => first 10.6V on scope, then 12.2V on scope (after enabling channel 2 later).
1.4V on multimeter => 1.6V on scope.

I'm contacting the seller just in case there is a real issue, but I was wondering if any of you would know if it's just me, or the actual hardware.

E: The scope also fails to show the correct frequency in the top right corner, always showing f < 10Hz, though the measure function gives me the correct answer.
No idea what that's about...

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Wildly incorrect readings on a new SDS1104X-E
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2018, 08:03:20 pm »
Hey, I just got a Siglent SDS1104X-E in the mail from a retailer and it's supposedly been calibrated in January and tested by the seller (mostly stress-testing tbf), but
while I'm checking it out, I notice that all the voltage readings are *very* off.

I'm new to digital oscilloscopes, so I'm not sure if it's something I'm doing, but when measuring a couple batteries, first with a multimeter, then the scope, I got:

9.4V on multimeter => first 10.6V on scope, then 12.2V on scope (after enabling channel 2 later).
1.4V on multimeter => 1.6V on scope.