Author Topic: Worth buying a mixed scope?  (Read 4644 times)

Offline dtTopic starter

Worth buying a mixed scope?
« on: January 06, 2012, 12:33:55 am »
Hi all,

Buying my first scope and trying to decide whether choosing an MOS is worth the investment. There seems to be a huge price premium on mixed signal devices, while the logic analyzer features are very poor compared to much cheaper pc-based stand alone logic analyzers (especially in regards to triggering and protocol analysis). My question is the following:

I get the impression that the benefit of a mixed device (as opposed to independent scope and logic analyzer) is the synchronized triggering and display, is that right? How important is that in practice, that is, in what applications or circumstances exactly, would this feature be required?

I'm a software engineer working on robotics and mechatronics projects during my spare time, i.e., it's a hobby thing, I'm not looking to do this professionally - however I will probably buy a scope only once so I don't want to select something inadequate for the future.

Many thanks for your help!

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Worth buying a mixed scope?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 09:28:12 pm »
Dave often says that a standalone USB logic analyzer is more useful and flexible than the one built into an MSO. So it's probably worth saving the money on that feature and getting an ordinary DSO.

It's also often said that for some jobs an analog scope can't be bettered, so a well stocked bench should have both analog and digital scopes.

IMHO the aspiration to only buy one scope is unrealistic. Buy what you need now, use it for a while, and upgrade when/if you find the need.

Offline Lightages

• Supporter
  • Canadian po
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 09:34:16 pm »