Author Topic: Zero Forward-Voltage Diode, Would this work?  (Read 6157 times)

Offline bruce965Topic starter

Zero Forward-Voltage Diode, Would this work?
« on: September 01, 2016, 01:58:29 pm »
Hello, everyone!

I was thinking that a circuit like this should behave like a zero forward-voltage diode, but I'm a total newbie in electronics. I might be missing something essential.

The idea is to use an op-amp to drive a (normally close) solid-state relay.

VO14642AT Datasheet: http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/427/vo14642a-279692.pdf

What do you think, would a circuit like this make sense? Could it work?

Offline tszaboo

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
Re: Zero Forward-Voltage Diode, Would this work?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2016, 02:07:41 pm »
What is powering the opamp? If you have a secondary supply, then still, it would not be a diode, because it would conduct if the voltage is positive, not when the input voltage is higher than the output voltage.
If you want an almost ideal diode, check Linear technology's products for that. Like LTC4357.

Offline klr5205

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2016, 02:35:00 pm »
Also, depending on your current sourcing needs, google "super diode" or "op amp precision rectifier". 

Even if it doesn't fit your requirements for this project, its another building block for your bag of tricks.

The following users thanked this post: indole

Offline CJay

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2016, 02:40:39 pm »
What you need to look at is synchronous rectification or active diodes, it's a technique used to minimise diode drop in power rectifiers, there's lots to be gained from using it if you're dealing with lots of amps.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Active_rectification

« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2016, 05:13:42 pm »