Author Topic: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide  (Read 1024562 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline yyao

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
    • My website
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #125 on: September 26, 2010, 05:03:56 pm »
I may also add, I have physical access to 3 DS1052E's. All 3 of them were bought at the same time and share the same serial number except for the last 3 digits. They all came with 2.04 SP1. One of them (mine) has the modified model number exhibits the ADC mismatch problem even after self calibration. The other two which have not been modified do not exhibit this problem. I am too chicken to try this modification on the other two working ones.
Yi Yao
 

Offline Polossatik

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 286
  • Country: be
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #126 on: September 26, 2010, 06:15:07 pm »
I have updated the guide with nice big fat warning in red

just for the time beeing :)
Real Circuit design time in minutes= (2 + Nscopes) Testim + (40 +120 Kbrewski) Nfriends

Testim = estimated time in minutes Nscopes= number of oscilloscopes present Kbrewski = linear approx of the nonlinear beer effect Nfriends = number of circuit design friends present
 

Offline thakidd

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 56
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #127 on: September 29, 2010, 05:41:42 am »
Just got my rigol today and am loving it @ 50Mhz! Sometime in the near future, I might try the hack. Question though, when I go to System Info it just flat out says sft version: 00.02.04. I read a lot about the firmware but must have gotten lost. If it just says 02.04 without an SP X what does that mean? Wanna check as I would hate to brick mine.
 

Offline joelby

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 634
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #128 on: September 29, 2010, 07:22:56 am »
but i wonder why i cant go down to 10mV where Aurora can ???

If you're using a 10x probe, 20 mV seems to be the limit. It's 2 mV/div on 1x.
 

Offline markman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: us
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #129 on: October 01, 2010, 03:21:02 am »
Just got my rigol today and am loving it @ 50Mhz! Sometime in the near future, I might try the hack. Question though, when I go to System Info it just flat out says sft version: 00.02.04. I read a lot about the firmware but must have gotten lost. If it just says 02.04 without an SP X what does that mean? Wanna check as I would hate to brick mine.

I got one that says 00.02.04 on the display.  You can read the full version number using the *IDN? command.  Mine reads 00.02.04.00.03 that way.  I believe you can do that query over RS-232 or USB.  For the USB, see the beginning of this thread and using the demoIDN.exe USB Tool.  

I've read through a lot of a few threads and I'm still not clear if anyone has updated a 00.02.04.00.03 unit without loosing the gain/offset of each of the A/D converters or suffering big offsets.  It would be interest to have a poll.  
« Last Edit: October 02, 2010, 01:58:12 pm by markman »
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8941
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #130 on: October 01, 2010, 04:56:19 am »
this is a simple Windows App to check your model and serial and FW version. a simple *IDN? command.
connect through USB and make sure visa32.dll is working.
it has "Mod The Rigol" button too!

update: This link is outdated, pls download from the newer link i've provided in this thread, TQ!
link deleted
« Last Edit: October 11, 2010, 04:01:13 am by shafri »
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline garryj

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #131 on: October 01, 2010, 06:39:01 am »
From the System Info screen of the Utility menu you can also:
Press the CH1 key twice
Press the CH2 key twice
Press the MATH key once

and it will show a power up count and additional firmware info, including the full version number.
 

Offline just

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: 00
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #132 on: October 01, 2010, 07:17:49 am »
From the System Info screen of the Utility menu you can also:
.....

Nice... How did you figured out this? firmware disassembling? :)
 

Offline Polossatik

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 286
  • Country: be
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #133 on: October 01, 2010, 08:12:51 am »
this is a simple Windows App to check your model and serial and FW version. a simple *IDN? command.
connect through USB and make sure visa32.dll is working.
it has "Mod The Rigol" button too!


cool, where did you get this from? did you wrote it?

From the System Info screen of the Utility menu you can also:
Press the CH1 key twice
Press the CH2 key twice
Press the MATH key once

and it will show a power up count and additional firmware info, including the full version number.

nice, i'll add it to the guide!
Real Circuit design time in minutes= (2 + Nscopes) Testim + (40 +120 Kbrewski) Nfriends

Testim = estimated time in minutes Nscopes= number of oscilloscopes present Kbrewski = linear approx of the nonlinear beer effect Nfriends = number of circuit design friends present
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8941
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #134 on: October 01, 2010, 12:10:18 pm »
cool, where did you get this from? did you wrote it?
well, lets just say someone wrote it, and he is in desperate need for help to unlock the "Mod The Rigol" button ;) and probably... the other most useful automated commands too.
how to develop such App is explained in Rigol Programming Guide "Programming Based on Visa", "Programming in Visual Basic 6.0"... or "C++"
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline dimlow

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 301
  • Country: gb
  • Likes to be thought of as
    • Dimlow Ponders
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #135 on: October 01, 2010, 12:30:14 pm »
From the System Info screen of the Utility menu you can also:
Press the CH1 key twice
Press the CH2 key twice
Press the MATH key once


I went into this mode to have a look, when i reset the machine my serial number had changed!
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8941
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #136 on: October 01, 2010, 12:45:35 pm »
I went into this mode to have a look, when i reset the machine my serial number had changed!
did it fix, or change your calibration data?
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline dimlow

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 301
  • Country: gb
  • Likes to be thought of as
    • Dimlow Ponders
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #137 on: October 01, 2010, 12:47:23 pm »
HA, that would be handy, but NO :o
 

Offline drieg

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • Country: cz
    • Silcon Electronics
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #138 on: October 01, 2010, 01:14:33 pm »
From the System Info screen of the Utility menu you can also:
Press the CH1 key twice
Press the CH2 key twice
Press the MATH key once


...be careful with this mode, do not press any key, you can change some settings directly in flash (for. example s/n to DS1E112002)

@yyao & others with 02.04 SP1 or later..
Please note that if you got the scope with 02.04 SP1 firmware in it (or later), you should not use earlier firmware on your unit because it can't handle the newer hardware properly. Your scope is HW version "58" which is supported by the firmware version 02.04 SP1 only (not earlier). New firmwares support all older HW versions.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2010, 08:24:06 am by drieg »
Bricked Rigol? This thread might be of any help.
 

Offline markman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: us
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #139 on: October 01, 2010, 01:52:01 pm »
So... the one I just got says:

Software version:  00.02.04.00.03
   DSP:  2.20
   FPGA:2.00
   HardVersion:57

That is the 00.02.04 version (no SP).  Will older firmware versions work OK with it?  Are you saying the mod will work and not mess the calibration?
 

Offline Polossatik

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 286
  • Country: be
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #140 on: October 01, 2010, 02:31:10 pm »
From the System Info screen of the Utility menu you can also:
Press the CH1 key twice
Press the CH2 key twice
Press the MATH key once


...be careful with this mode, do not press any key, you can change some settings directly in flash (for. example s/n to DS1E112002)

@yyao & others with 02.4 SP1
Please note that if you got the scope with 02.04. SP1 firmware in it, you should not use earlier firmware on your unit because it can't handle the newer hardware properly. Your scope is HW version "58" which is supported by firmware version 02.04 SP1 only (not earlier). New firmwares support all older HW versions.


if that is the case, i'll prefre not to mention it in a "dummy" guide, is there another (bit safer) way to get the hardware version?

cool, where did you get this from? did you wrote it?
well, lets just say someone wrote it, and he is in desperate need for help to unlock the "Mod The Rigol" button ;) and probably... the other most useful automated commands too.
how to develop such App is explained in Rigol Programming Guide "Programming Based on Visa", "Programming in Visual Basic 6.0"... or "C++"


I'm not really a programmer  :) - I'll leave other tool for now in the guide, it's not that more difficult
« Last Edit: October 01, 2010, 02:33:53 pm by polossatik »
Real Circuit design time in minutes= (2 + Nscopes) Testim + (40 +120 Kbrewski) Nfriends

Testim = estimated time in minutes Nscopes= number of oscilloscopes present Kbrewski = linear approx of the nonlinear beer effect Nfriends = number of circuit design friends present
 

Offline dimlow

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 301
  • Country: gb
  • Likes to be thought of as
    • Dimlow Ponders
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #141 on: October 01, 2010, 03:04:46 pm »


...be careful with this mode, do not press any key, you can change some settings directly in flash (for. example s/n to DS1E112002)


Yep i ageeeeee here!

What other buttons should i not press ? and what will they do ? I think i pressed every button whilst in that mode :'(

I think i should have been told earlier

Oh, and my scope shows no hardware version there.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2010, 03:09:57 pm by dimlow »
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8941
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #142 on: October 01, 2010, 04:19:19 pm »
Oh, and my scope shows no hardware version there.
is it bricked? or still the same function? if its still the same then i think all you have to do is to save the memory of the HW revision in your brain ;D
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline garryj

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #143 on: October 01, 2010, 05:14:13 pm »
Quote

...be careful with this mode, do not press any key, you can change some settings directly in flash (for. example s/n to DS1E112002)


Sorry, I was unaware that this mode allowed you to alter data!

But it does appear to be useful because it provides a hardware version -- HardVersion=57 being a "hackable" scope?

 

Online Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8320
  • Country: gb
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #144 on: October 01, 2010, 05:20:27 pm »
Thanks for the 2.04 SP1 information drieg.

The question that is going through my mind is whether the earlier version firmware damages the calibration data or is it just that you cannot reload the correct 2.04 SP1 firmware after upgrading and so an anomaly occurs ? If it is the first case, there is little hope of upgrading for me but in the second case I just need to obtain 2.04 SP1 from somewhere for use after the reversion to 2.02.

Also... if the 2.04 SP1 firmware is all that is required, at least two members of this forum can repair their DSO's if they can persuade Rigol to provide 2.04 SP1 to them for re-installation  :)

« Last Edit: October 01, 2010, 05:27:41 pm by Aurora »
 

Online Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8320
  • Country: gb
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #145 on: October 01, 2010, 05:37:00 pm »
I think the circuit around that pesky Varicap diode filter is going to feel the irresistible heat of my Weller soldering iron sometime soon.

If you can't flash it .....MOD IT  :D

No 2nS range, but I can live with that and I understand electronics much better than the intricacies of firmware  ;)
 

Offline yyao

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
    • My website
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #146 on: October 02, 2010, 03:31:12 pm »
I've been in contact with drieg, and he has been able to restore my settings. My scope has been modified to a DS1102E and is full of awesome and win. Just to confirm, it looks like:

  • Hardware version 58 comes with firmware 00.02.04.01.02
  • I know of 3 DS1052E scopes that with HW ver. 58 and FW ver. 00.02.04.01.02. Their serial numbers all start with DS1ED123610nnn.
  • The noise that appears at high sampling rates happen only when you have HW ver. 58 and FW ver. 2.04 or lower

If you are reading this and are hesitant to try this, I will say that there is an associated risk because lower version firmware does cause problems with the scope. However, it is likely that your can restore your previous settings (thanks to drieg) and your scope can work fine.
Yi Yao
 

Offline AlphZeta

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
    • Kerry D. Wong
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #147 on: October 02, 2010, 04:09:18 pm »
Hi Guys,

I just receive my DS1052E scope.

Here's the detailed info from the sys info:

Software version: 00.02.04.00.03
DSP: 02.20
FPGA: 02.00
HardVersion:57

My question is, is it hackable to DS1102E? I have been following this topic for a while and I know that it is necessary to downgrade the firmware to 2.02SP2 first prior to any hacking attempts. I downloaded the 2.02SP2 firmware from Rigol's official site but the MD5 is 272086b2037231c62446617436544a77, which is different then the version suggested in earlier?

Anyone had done the hack with the exact version of my scope?
 

Offline yyao

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
    • My website
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #148 on: October 02, 2010, 04:41:44 pm »
AlphZeta, the MD5SUM for that file is correct. I haven't modified that version of the scope, but in theory, it should be easy. You just have to follow the guide. The firmware that your scope has is currently available on Rigol's website.

The problem that the 2.4 SP1 and hardware 58 people (like me) are having is that the firmware that we need is not available to the public. Any lower firmware does not work correctly with out scopes. That is, until drieg's help.

I highly recommend the USB cable method over the serial port method. I used the serial port method first, but was totally stumped why nothing worked until I realized that the scope had a DCE pinout but on a male port. Just soldered together an adapter and I was on my way. I've never seen a cable like that and I don't know if you can buy such a monstrosity off the shelf. If soldering is not for you, the USB method works equally well, you just have to install more software.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2010, 04:44:57 pm by yyao »
Yi Yao
 

Offline AlphZeta

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
    • Kerry D. Wong
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #149 on: October 02, 2010, 06:45:25 pm »
Quote
the MD5SUM for that file is correct.

Hmm... but I downloaded directly from Rigol's website (http://www.rigolna.com/products/digital-oscilloscopes/ds1000e/)? It says it's DS1000E Update V2 PS2? Where did you get your V2SP2 firmware?

Update:
Never mind, I saw that the MD5 was for the patched V2SP2... Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 02, 2010, 06:59:39 pm by AlphZeta »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf