Author Topic: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide  (Read 1086956 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AgeyevAV Russia

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #300 on: November 25, 2010, 07:09:41 am »
there is combination CH1 CH2 MATH, signifies there is combination of the forced renovation firmware  8)
 

Offline drieg

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • Country: cz
    • Silcon Electronics
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #301 on: November 25, 2010, 09:14:12 am »
One interesting feature in a custom firmware would be to allow direct selection of the bandwidth limit from the same CHx > BW Limit command. Instead of just enabling the 20 MHz filter, one could switch between the several hardware filters: 20 MHz, 50 MHz, 100 MHz or the entire 150 MHz vertical BW (if it is in fact the true maximum BW).

lteixeira

You're not the only one to whom this crossed his mind...  ;)
Bricked Rigol? This thread might be of any help.
 

Offline cicastol

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #302 on: November 25, 2010, 05:57:58 pm »
Interesting.... it appears that even rigol don't know the specification of their RP2200 probes. They are advertised as 150MHz or 200MHz bandwidth depending upon where you buy.
Also mine are rated as 150Mhz bw,tested with the famous pulse gen  attached to the Rigol probe with the bnc adapter  show an overall trise of 1,56nS Vs 1,36nS with a 300Mhz Agilent probe,the scope trise tested at bnc input is 1,28nS for reference(all Equ-time,averaged), so the Rigol probes should be near 200Mhz specification. ;D
« Last Edit: November 25, 2010, 06:52:16 pm by cicastol »
 

Offline CalcProgrammer1

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #303 on: November 25, 2010, 09:18:21 pm »
I just got a DS1052E from Aidetek on eBay, unfortunately it is also a FW2.05 model and is locked out.  Hopefully a fix will be found quickly as I bought the stupid thing because I wanted to unlock it.  It is a nice scope though, but I don't want it to be crippled by poor firmware forever.
 

Offline Zyvek

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 108
  • Country: us
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #304 on: November 25, 2010, 11:46:15 pm »
Comparison of the Rigol RP2200 probe vs Tektronix 6138 probe @ 50Mhz:

Rigol used was hacked to 100Mhz.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2010, 02:20:49 am by Zyvek »
-Z
 

Offline teixeluis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #305 on: November 25, 2010, 11:58:12 pm »
Why didn't you capture the screenshots from the Rigol directly? I can see you even had a USB flash attached.
But all in all I think is hard to have a better performance with that probe. I had pretty much the same result
at a similar frequency.

lteixeira
« Last Edit: November 26, 2010, 12:04:15 am by teixeluis »
 

Offline Zyvek

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 108
  • Country: us
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #306 on: November 26, 2010, 12:16:30 am »
Why didn't you capture the screenshots from the Rigol directly? I can see you even had a USB flash attached.
But all in all I think is hard to have a better performance with that probe. I had pretty much the same result
at a similar frequency.

lteixeira

Agreed.  I know which probe I'll be using.  I'm curious to see if the 300Mhz bargain probes found on eBay would be a good step up from the Rigol probe s.  The P6138 is nice but hard to find a complete one cheaply.

Since I had to use a digital camera to take picture of the CRO scopes it was just easier to keep my work-flow constant.  Part habit (none of my old scopes have screen capture) and part laziness. :-)
« Last Edit: November 26, 2010, 12:19:42 am by Zyvek »
-Z
 

Offline teixeluis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #307 on: November 26, 2010, 01:04:06 am »
Zyvek, how much BW is setup in your Rigol, 100MHz?

lteixeira
 

Offline Zyvek

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 108
  • Country: us
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #308 on: November 26, 2010, 02:21:14 am »
Zyvek, how much BW is setup in your Rigol, 100MHz?

lteixeira

Yup, 100Mhz!
-Z
 

Offline cicastol

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #309 on: November 26, 2010, 03:17:11 pm »
Comparison of the Rigol RP2200 probe vs Tektronix 6138 probe @ 50Mhz:
If you can, take also a screenshot of the waveform aquired via direct coax cable connection 50Ohm terminated, use it as reference waveform to compare against probe input,ringing and other probe related artifacts should be identifiables.
 

Offline teixeluis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #310 on: November 26, 2010, 03:38:41 pm »
Zyvek, how much BW is setup in your Rigol, 100MHz?

lteixeira

Yup, 100Mhz!

It would be interesting to make the same test with your Tektronix 6138 probe, but with the scope modded to 150 Mhz. This would give us a clear idea
of how close to the reality the 150 MHz mode is.
 

Offline darrylp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: gb
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #311 on: November 26, 2010, 04:23:11 pm »
throwing some info about the serial number bit, and the functions offered from the DS1000[DE} models and which have the 2ns time base option and the 50MHz BW limit......

looking the the hex part of the serial number as binary, we see possible config option/switches....



111101100    the DS1052D    SN: DS1ECxxx
111101101    the DS1052E    SN: DS1EDxxx
111101011    the DS1102E    SN: DS1EBxxx
111101010    the DS1102D    SN: DS1EAxxx
      ^^^
      ||+------------------------------------------------------------------+
      |+--------------------------------+                                  |
      |                                 |                 set turns off the LA menu options maybe ?
      |                  turns on the 2ns time option
turns on the limit BW to 50MHz



so, try using the leading part of the serial number as DS1EFxxx and of course the rest of your
own serial number,  you will end up with a 50MHz BW limit, but able to select the 2ns time option.

dont think the LA option will do anything more than enable some menu's without the hardware present

of course the DS1000E to DS1000D firmwares are different... so maybe the D firmware and the LA bit
 

Offline teixeluis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #312 on: November 26, 2010, 04:40:09 pm »
darrylp: might be coincidence but it sure makes sense. I'm pretty sure there is(are) forum user(s) with enough knowledge of the firmware to be able to confirm or deny this.

lteixeira
 

Offline teixeluis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #313 on: November 26, 2010, 04:45:12 pm »
BTW, does the DS1152E Model has a different S/N prefix? Given the existence of this third model, one bit is not enough to setup the BW.

lteixeira
 

Offline darrylp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: gb
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #314 on: November 26, 2010, 04:54:30 pm »
the 150MHz model to the 100MHz model, I expect are purely down to the factory test of the sample signal they test.   as the sampling circuit has a switch to limit to 20MHz,   all models have that option.... the 1052 models get auto limited to the 50MHz filter , and the 1102 and I expect the 1152 models get the 2ns time base.

anyone way to try turning a DS1052E into a 2ns time base 1052 ?  ie with the 50MHz limit BW still set,  and then go to the 1102, with the 50MHz limit tuerned off, but dont enable the 2ns option of the time base ?

would confirm things better...
 

Offline accepttheownage

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #315 on: November 27, 2010, 05:24:44 am »
I just got a DS1052E from Aidetek on eBay, unfortunately it is also a FW2.05 model and is locked out.  Hopefully a fix will be found quickly as I bought the stupid thing because I wanted to unlock it.  It is a nice scope though, but I don't want it to be crippled by poor firmware forever.


Haha, same here. Bought mine from Aidetek with the intention of upgrading it as soon as I got it. So here's a warning for potential buyers: Look elsewhere if you want a hackable DS1052E!
 

Offline accepttheownage

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #316 on: November 29, 2010, 06:58:57 pm »
I've been following these threads on a Chinese forum to see if they're getting anywhere with hacking firmware 02.05:

http://218.16.124.207/bbs/bbs_content.jsp?bbs_sn=4250575&bbs_page_no=1&search_mode=1&search_text=ds1052e&bbs_id=3053
http://218.16.124.207/bbs/bbs_content.jsp?bbs_sn=4416640&bbs_page_no=1&search_mode=1&search_text=ds1052e&bbs_id=3053

Google translate doesn't do that well of a job translating everything. Anyone fluent in Chinese able to see if they've figured out anything?
 

Offline updatelee

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 43
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #317 on: November 30, 2010, 01:09:47 am »
I just got a DS1052E from Aidetek on eBay, unfortunately it is also a FW2.05 model and is locked out.  Hopefully a fix will be found quickly as I bought the stupid thing because I wanted to unlock it.  It is a nice scope though, but I don't want it to be crippled by poor firmware forever.


Haha, same here. Bought mine from Aidetek with the intention of upgrading it as soon as I got it. So here's a warning for potential buyers: Look elsewhere if you want a hackable DS1052E!

wow I guess I got lucky, I bought mine from Aidetek at the end of October and it had 2.04 and Ive since upgraded it to 100mhz. Good to know.
 

Offline Crippled

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #318 on: December 04, 2010, 02:21:46 pm »
What happens when you try to hexedit the firmware version of the 02.02 firmware to, for example 2.06 ?
 

Offline AgeyevAV Russia

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #319 on: December 06, 2010, 05:19:56 am »
What happens when you try to hexedit the firmware version of the 02.02 firmware to, for example 2.06 ?

Tried no result, necessary to read microprogram and read the name of the renovation.
 

Offline AlphZeta

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
    • Kerry D. Wong
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #320 on: December 06, 2010, 03:48:35 pm »
I am wondering where I could get hold of a copy of the latest 2.05 firmware... it'll be interesting to see what has changed...
 

Offline Crippled

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #321 on: December 06, 2010, 06:16:16 pm »
Many times it is possible to download firmware via rs232 or very often something can be done during booting.
What kind of microcontroller is on board?
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 05:04:24 pm by Crippled »
 

Offline Jendem

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #322 on: December 10, 2010, 10:26:38 pm »
Another successfully DS1052E to DS1102E update using the USB tool performed. Had some problems getting the scope to talk to the computer (Win 7 x64) and Ultrascope, but it magically started working after several restarts  :) 
I ordered my scope from DX in August, got it last week!

It had software version 02.04 SP1 and hardware version 58.
Downgraded to 02.02.02.00 and updated to 02.04.01.02. No noise problems at all  :)
 

Offline Crippled

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #323 on: December 12, 2010, 10:43:31 am »
Wow, you had to wait 4-5 months? At what status was your package at according to the post tracking site and was it shipped with china post or HK post?
I ordered mine december 1st and is going through China Post, I guess I'll get a 02.05 .
Wish I discovered this earlier.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 10:49:16 am by Crippled »
 

Offline Nifty

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: lv
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #324 on: December 16, 2010, 03:18:54 pm »
My DS1052E ordered from DX on 05-Nov-2010, HW revision is 58, FW is 02.05

Any chance to hack it?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf