Author Topic: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide  (Read 1083130 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline kyren

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #600 on: March 14, 2011, 12:08:07 am »
What kind of damage can you do when the scope is in the special "extended" version of the system info screen?  I accidentally did the "channel 1 x2, channel 2 x2, math" sequence with that screen already displaying, because I wasn't paying attention.  Everything seems fine, what might I have done?

I know it was really stupid of me to do that, it's just that I backed out of that menu, did some other stuff, and then went back.  I didn't realize that the "extended" mode would still be enabled, and without thinking I did the sequence again, *then* realized that it was already showing the extended info.

I re-calibrated the scope and everything seems fine (it actually seemed fine even before I did that).  Did I dodge a bullet?  Did I screw something up I can't immediately see?
« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 04:52:57 am by kyren »
 

Offline drieg

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • Country: cz
    • Silcon Electronics
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #601 on: March 14, 2011, 06:26:42 pm »
Latest fimwares are immune to this issue, my message was refering to older firmwares... stay cool 8)
Bricked Rigol? This thread might be of any help.
 

Offline kyren

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #602 on: March 14, 2011, 06:47:14 pm »
Latest fimwares are immune to this issue, my message was refering to older firmwares... stay cool 8)

Okay, that's a relief :D  Thanks drieg!
 

Offline joh

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #603 on: March 15, 2011, 12:14:07 pm »
Hello,

I have received my DS1052E today from DealExtreme. Looks like no hack for me at the moment. Details of my version below:

DS1ED125xxxxxx
Software: 00.02.05.02.00
DSP: 00.00
FPGA: 02.00
HardVersion: 58

Fingers crossed for the future.

John.
 

Offline pumex

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #604 on: March 19, 2011, 02:57:13 pm »
My Rigol have same version  00.02.05.02.00

Must wait for better time....
 

Offline Deckardsvr

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: 00
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #605 on: March 23, 2011, 05:58:49 am »
Hi, i successfully changed my DS1052E to DS1102E
original firmware was 00.02.05.01.02 hardversion:58
- used the 2.05.01.02_to_2.02sp2 firmware downgrade
- rigupgred the scope and finally upgraded to 00.02.04 SP1
it works like a charm down to 2ns
thank you guys for all the good work  ;) .
regards
 

Offline UnaClocker

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #606 on: March 25, 2011, 06:31:31 am »
Well, got my scope today from Saelig and... <drumroll>

FW Version 00.02.05.02.00
HW Version 58

So I guess I'm SOL until a new hack is found.  This all started as a hardware hack, right?  If there turns out to be no way to ever hack a 02.05.02.00 scope, would it still be possible to modify it in hardware?
I'm in the same boat. I ordered my scope from DealExtreme on Feb 25th, got it today, March 24th, and it's got this new firmware on it. Anyone got a link to the hardware hack? Or should I just be patient and wait for someone to figure out a work around for this firmware?
 

Offline joh

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #607 on: March 25, 2011, 05:35:04 pm »
I think the hardware hack is here - I'm not sure its for me right now.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?topic=30.210

I think I'll wait for progress on the firmware route.
 

Offline daurnimator

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #608 on: March 31, 2011, 01:17:18 am »
Got mine today from deal extreme;
Came with 00.02.05.02.00 (00.02.05 SP2)
Hardware version 58

==> Advice?
« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 01:18:53 am by daurnimator »
 

Offline tonva

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #609 on: April 01, 2011, 10:16:19 pm »
I have received my DS1052E today from DealExtreme. Looks like no hack for me at the moment. Details of my version below:
DS1ED125xxxxxx
Software: 00.02.05.02.00
DSP: 00.00
FPGA: 02.00
HardVersion: 58
Greetings to all my 02.05.02.00 brothers.

I have spent quite an eternity googling for hack. Seems there is just one method used - downgrade the scope to 02.02 SP2 version, then change scope ID and update back to the latest (or any you like) version.

Till version 02.05.01 the downgrading was possible using patched 02.02 SP2 firmware, which fooled the installed version. To understand how, compare DS1000EUpdate.RGL files (actually just first 32 bytes are involved). You need the original (or even patched) 02.02 SP2 version, and the update file to (at least) ONE LEVEL HIGHER version than you have installed in the scope (in our case, something like 02.05.03). Then rewrite the few bytes at the very beginning of the 02.02 SP2 file by corresponding bytes from the update and voila - downgrading file is here. So we have to wait until Rigol guys release new version and then we will see. Or the same method will work (pray for that), or not.

But even if they definitely succeed to stop hacking the DS1052E scopes this way, there is allways another way. Unfortunately not so easy, as it requires chip unsoldering. Look at https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?topic=1379.0 for details. AFAIK the procedure working for completely bricked scope will work for unbricked as well.

------------------
 IMPORTANT EDIT
------------------

Thanks to 'maze' and 'A Hellene' the header secrets disclosed. Congratulation!
For 2.05 SP2 to 2.02 downgrade header see
A successful attempt to create an update.header file for the unhackable 2.05 SP2


« Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 04:19:55 pm by tonva »
 

Offline torch

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 340
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #610 on: April 01, 2011, 10:58:58 pm »
From what I remember reading around here, there's two parts to the flash memory -- one part contains configuration data unique to the individual scope, the other contains the firmware.

Question for Drieg:
Would it be possible for someone to treat this the same way you have been repairing bricked scopes, stitching a replacement firmware section with the configuration section?

Nowhere near as convenient -- the chip must be de-soldered first -- but would this work? 
 

Offline tonva

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #611 on: April 02, 2011, 05:10:48 pm »
....
Question for Drieg:
Would it be possible for someone to treat this the same way you have been repairing bricked scopes, stitching a replacement firmware section with the configuration section?
Nowhere near as convenient -- the chip must be de-soldered first -- but would this work? 

Yeah, right question.  May be we will also look around for some other "nondestructive" way to do that. May be it is possible to read/write flash trough embedded CPU controlled by JTAG interface, or there are some hidden "undocumented functions" used by Rigol guys for assembled system inspection/tweaking ????   
 

Offline papilucio

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #612 on: April 04, 2011, 11:47:27 am »
A bug  has been reported on the product page of Dealextreme.com :
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/rigol-ds1052e-5-6-tft-lcd-50mhz-2-channel-digital-color-storage-oscilloscope-30573

"Posted by  AviHM  on 4/1/2011
(...)
The instrument stops functioning if you do the following:
Pressing up and down on the slope sub-menu under trigger menu will cause the instrument to stop working.
Display freaks out and it won't return to normal operation even if you turn it off.
I found that the only way to restore operation is to press on RUN/STOP button at start and to try get it out of the loop it entered. It is not a temporary glitch. "

Anyone aware of this ? Maybe some hope for a new firmware update ?

Luc
 

Offline Stonehedge

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #613 on: April 04, 2011, 11:49:53 am »
Hi guys, this is only my second post in this forum. I posted in the "DS1052E Up to 150Mhz" thread to inform that I have succeeded in upgrading my DS1052E to DS1152E using files and utilities found on this site.

I bought a slightly used oscilloscope from an internet auction mainly due to the restrictions in later software releases from Rigol. My oscilloscope came with software 02.04 SP1 and hardware 58 and was easily upgraded.

Again thank you to all that provided threads, files and utilities. You made a fantastic work.

//typo
« Last Edit: April 04, 2011, 11:51:46 am by Stonehedge »
 

Offline drieg

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • Country: cz
    • Silcon Electronics
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #614 on: April 04, 2011, 01:30:27 pm »
Question for Drieg:
Would it be possible for someone to treat this the same way you have been repairing bricked scopes, stitching a replacement firmware section with the configuration section?

Nowhere near as convenient -- the chip must be de-soldered first -- but would this work?  

Yes, it is possible.  8)

So for those with 2.05 SP2 firmware, who don't want to wait until (if at all) Rigol releases newer firmware to make the hack possible again, and if you don't mind sending me your mainboard...
« Last Edit: April 04, 2011, 01:33:55 pm by drieg »
Bricked Rigol? This thread might be of any help.
 

Offline scrat

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: it
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #615 on: April 04, 2011, 01:55:00 pm »
Question for Drieg:
Would it be possible for someone to treat this the same way you have been repairing bricked scopes, stitching a replacement firmware section with the configuration section?

Nowhere near as convenient -- the chip must be de-soldered first -- but would this work? 

Yes, it is possible.  8)

So for those with 2.05 SP2 firmware, who don't want to wait until (if at all) Rigol releases newer firmware to make the hack possible again, and if you don't mind sending me your mainboard...

Would the calibration data be lost with that procedure?
One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man. - Elbert Hubbard
 

Offline drieg

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • Country: cz
    • Silcon Electronics
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #616 on: April 04, 2011, 02:19:25 pm »
No, why?! Nothing will be lost.
No loss, no soldering, full backup and... NO CHARGE  ;D

...and please don't ask me for details, I really can't tell you, sorry.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2011, 07:05:53 pm by drieg »
Bricked Rigol? This thread might be of any help.
 

Offline scrat

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: it
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #617 on: April 04, 2011, 02:55:11 pm »
Amazing, Drieg, you must have some kind of black magic! :)
One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man. - Elbert Hubbard
 

Offline krater

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: de
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #618 on: April 04, 2011, 04:33:03 pm »
hey drieg,

i think you use jtag for this, yes ?
which program and which configurations you use ? how do you connect the jtag adapter ? what changes you make on the flash  ?

cheers,
krater
"it was working yesterday.  hmmm.  maybe the vendor FTDI'd me via a windows update..."
 

Offline Polossatik

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 286
  • Country: be
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #619 on: April 05, 2011, 10:52:43 am »
hey drieg,

i think you use jtag for this, yes ?
which program and which configurations you use ? how do you connect the jtag adapter ? what changes you make on the flash  ?

cheers,
krater

No, why?! Nothing will be lost.
No loss, no soldering, full backup and... NO CHARGE  ;D

...and please don't ask me for details, I really can't tell you, sorry.

respect the dude man  ;)
Real Circuit design time in minutes= (2 + Nscopes) Testim + (40 +120 Kbrewski) Nfriends

Testim = estimated time in minutes Nscopes= number of oscilloscopes present Kbrewski = linear approx of the nonlinear beer effect Nfriends = number of circuit design friends present
 

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9966
  • Country: gb
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #620 on: April 05, 2011, 04:20:48 pm »
I like Drieg's new Avatar  :D

Generous people like Drieg are sadly rare these days and I am very glad he is a member of this forum and willing to help those in need.

Cogito, ergo sum
 

Offline drieg

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • Country: cz
    • Silcon Electronics
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #621 on: April 05, 2011, 05:35:00 pm »
Thanks :)
Bricked Rigol? This thread might be of any help.
 

Offline Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10061
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #622 on: April 05, 2011, 07:10:23 pm »
He is a dedicated DSO doctor. you need to go to U in order to be like him ;)
It's extremely difficult to start life.. one features of nature.. physical laws are mathematical theory of great beauty... You may wonder Why? our knowledge shows that nature is so constructed. We simply have to accept it. One could describe the situation by saying that... (Paul Dirac)
 

Offline MickM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 100
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #623 on: April 06, 2011, 07:19:26 am »
I agree "respect the dude man ".
He said he cannot tell, so why are you asking?

Anyway I just got my scope today from Saelig.
$400 with free bag, and free shipping.
(I live near Seattle).

Here is the info:
power up: 8
Serial: DS1ED124915xxx
Ver: 00.02.05.02.00

DSP: 00.00
FPGA: 02.00
HW: 58

Calibrated 7-Dec-2010

It is kind of intimidating.
I am used to older analog scopes only.
Are there any tutorials or videos on using this scope?
I know for sure that there are features that I have never heard of in it.
(Math for one).

I went ahead and registered it at rigolna and downloaded the software app for it.
I have not installed it yet.

Does the latest package from Rigol "just run" or is there a magic incantation to be done first.
USB/drivers/libs/DLL/MSI etc?


I run Fedora 14 x64, but have a Win7 x86 box available,

Thanks
  Mick M.

 

Offline krater

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: de
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #624 on: April 07, 2011, 07:09:06 pm »
Oh, i doesn't read the thread complete. When he said he can not tell, okay, maybee there is a real reason to don't give us the infos.

But he can't upgrade all our scopes, maybee i'm not in the right forum, but if there is anyone who can give infos about using jtag with rigol scope, please talk to me...
I think it's not a big problem to upgrade the scope without any risk if you have a working jtag connection to the cpu. Next step should be a firmware update that ignores the configured bandwith and everytime switchs to 100MHz.

Is there anyone who has experience in blackfin assembly ?
« Last Edit: April 07, 2011, 07:11:35 pm by krater »
"it was working yesterday.  hmmm.  maybe the vendor FTDI'd me via a windows update..."
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf