Author Topic: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide  (Read 1051539 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline BruFFy

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1450 on: January 04, 2014, 01:00:20 am »
Tried the same as RobRob, but mine didn't prompted to upgrade :(
Same specs:
DS1ET
00.04.00.00.01

Tried with fat16 & fat32
It does reconize the usb drive, I can go to storage and see the .rgl file.

Found the solution!
My usb drive had 4G, made a 1G partition and it works :)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2014, 01:37:49 pm by BruFFy »
 

Offline straycat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1451 on: January 04, 2014, 12:29:43 pm »
Hay guys, I would not recommend firmware upgrades unless stated by RIGOL. Firmware does differ depending on when it was made. Do the mod and stick with the original firmware.
 

Offline DennisFranz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1452 on: January 19, 2014, 07:41:00 pm »
Can I use the same method of modification for the:
Units: DS1ET 00.04.00.00.01 ?

My unit. It is a DS1ET 00.04.01, no fourth pair of versioning after the third subset.
 

Offline AndersAnd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 568
  • Country: dk
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1453 on: January 19, 2014, 07:53:41 pm »
Can I use the same method of modification for the:
Units: DS1ET 00.04.00.00.01 ?

My unit. It is a DS1ET 00.04.01, no fourth pair of versioning after the third subset.
There's a shorted version number and a long version number.
Read "Step 2" of the first post in this topic to see how you get to see the long version number instead of the shorted one.
 

Offline MartinL

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Which firmware version changed the waveform format?
« Reply #1454 on: January 20, 2014, 02:19:11 am »
I'm trying to work out which firmware version introduced a protocol change.

Please see this thread if you can help by checking your own device's response:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-ds1000de-which-firmware-version-changed-the-waveform-format/

Thanks!
 

Offline DennisFranz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1455 on: January 20, 2014, 01:09:36 pm »

There's a shorted version number and a long version number.
Read "Step 2" of the first post in this topic to see how you get to see the long version number instead of the shorted one.

Thank you and I apologize for not reading through the entire process prior to asking this question.
 

Offline straycat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1456 on: January 30, 2014, 11:49:03 am »
Hay guys you are much better off using the longer method to change your scope band width, ie. Changing the serial no and model no. 1-You can then stick with your original firmware after the mod. 2- You can go back to original 50mhz if required. This is only my opinion. :-+
 

Offline GiskardReventlov

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 598
  • Country: 00
  • How many pseudonyms do you have?
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1457 on: January 30, 2014, 09:29:16 pm »
This only makes sense if you already own the DS1052E since last I checked the DS1102E cost less.
 

Offline Sigmoid

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 488
  • Country: us
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1458 on: February 04, 2014, 06:00:04 pm »
Hay guys, I would not recommend firmware upgrades unless stated by RIGOL. Firmware does differ depending on when it was made. Do the mod and stick with the original firmware.

That's stopped being an option since 2.04. Also, I asked a customer representative from Rigol if the device can be safely upgraded, and he sent me a copy of the latest firmware. So yea, apparently there's no risk in upgrading, only downgrading can cause problems.

Also, I honestly don't understand the group bias against using self-calibration function. Yes, there were instances of data corruption from trying to self-calibrate a scope using downgraded firmware. To me that says you shouldn't downgrade, not that you shouldn't calibrate.

Normally, I think a self-calibration is pretty much a must for example if you move a scope between working environments with significantly different temperatures...
« Last Edit: February 04, 2014, 06:05:24 pm by Sigmoid »
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1030
  • Country: pt
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1459 on: February 04, 2014, 08:51:42 pm »
Hi All,

Having followed this thread for awhile, i decided to buy one DS1052E. Last week, I received one DS1ET serial with 00.04.01.00.02 (HW 58).

I understand how to do both upgrade methods (USB and patch fw) but I would like to know if anyone has these answers:

Has anyone with a DS1ET serial number applied the downgrade-usb-upgrade method?  Having changed the serial to DS1EB, what was the FPGA version in the end (after returning to a 00.04.01 version)?

TIA

« Last Edit: February 05, 2014, 09:18:59 pm by tv84 »
 

Offline straycat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1460 on: February 06, 2014, 11:23:41 am »
TV84, WITH FIRMWARE VERSION 00.04.01.00.02 YOU WILL BE UNABLE TO DOWNGRADE,FROM WHAT I UNDERSTAND,ONLY USING GIZMOS MOD FIRMWARE TO CHANGE IT TO 100MHZ. I HAVE SPENT MANY HOURS ON THE FIRMWARE AND HAVE CRACKED IT FOR DOWNGRADING.
Sigmoid.  I UNDERSTAND WHAT YOUR SAYING,BUT SOME customer representative FROM RIGOL WILL SAY NOT TO. DEPENDS WHO YOU GET ON THE DAY I GUESS LOL.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2014, 11:39:57 am by straycat »
 

Offline Sigmoid

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 488
  • Country: us
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1461 on: February 06, 2014, 06:09:24 pm »
CAPSLOCK! ;)
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1030
  • Country: pt
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1462 on: February 06, 2014, 09:24:45 pm »
... YOU WILL BE UNABLE TO DOWNGRADE,.... I HAVE SPENT MANY HOURS ON THE FIRMWARE AND HAVE CRACKED IT FOR DOWNGRADING....

Don't quite understand. According to your words it's possible to downgrade although one has to crack it. Without reaching for IDA, wouldn't a file header replacement be enough for a downgrade or it now checksums the whole file?
 

Offline straycat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1463 on: February 08, 2014, 07:44:59 pm »
Hi,you can downgrade but not with firmware 00.04.01.00.02 unless you have a mod version for downgrading the firmware. The only mod version i have come across is gizmos 50mhz to 100mhz. I have a mod 00.04.01.00.02 for downgrading the firmware back to my original 00.04.01.00.00.. I rather go the long way around ( changing the serial and model no ) via usb.  Its not as simple just by replacing the header,,you have to checksum the whole file.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2014, 07:46:32 pm by straycat »
 

Offline kpos

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1464 on: February 08, 2014, 09:54:31 pm »
Hello,

Just upgraded my DS1052E from 00.02.05 SP2 to 00.04.01 using gizmos file.
Used USB FAT32 formatted stick.

Cheers,
kpos
 

Offline queaker

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1465 on: February 12, 2014, 10:59:54 am »
Hi Gizmo, hi GreySam

Sorry for the "Me Too" Post. I'm owner of a DS1052D with Firmware 00.04.01.00.02 too. I also want to upgrade my 50MHz Model to 100 MHz and i'm wondering if anybody have a "patched" firmware for the ds1052d...? Maybe its already answered in this thread, by i got lost after hours of reading...

GreySam, have you any further investigations to "our case"?

Thanks in advance.
    queaker

Hi Gizmo,

do you think you could modify also FW for DS1052D ?
I've read all pages here, but I didn't find modified FW for D-version. I would like to use your 'easy' way to hack my DS1052D scope  ;)
Thanks in advance.

GreySam

After much hacking, here's a custom firmware which sets the DS1052E to be a DS1102E. You wont notice any difference in serial or model number, but you now have the functionality of the DS1102E scope (2ns minimum time scale / 100Mhz). I've tested it and my 32Mhz clock I was looking at definitely has more resolution, so it is working.

CRC32: E62BB61B
MD5: 01d2d46d6c565c492b6f49725404f18b

http://synfin.net/public/DS1000EUpdate.rar

For anyone who is sceptical, do a file compare between the official 00.04.00.00.01 firmware and this one, and you'll see only one byte has changed.

As ever use at your own risk, blah blah. Works for my hardware 58 version DS1052E scope.


Edit:
May as well add some instructions. Copy the DS1000EUpdate.RGL file from the rar onto a memory stick, put it in the scope, and select OK when it asks if you want to update. It's that simple.

For your peace of mind, check the file's MD5 against the above number when it's on your memory stick to ensure it's correct before flashing. The scope doesn't bother with any data integrity checking, which is a bit of a shame, so if the file is corrupted at all, you will most likely brick the scope.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 12:19:24 pm by queaker »
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1466 on: February 12, 2014, 12:32:58 pm »
Hay guys, I would not recommend firmware upgrades unless stated by RIGOL. Firmware does differ depending on when it was made. Do the mod and stick with the original firmware.

Lol, some people are nuts. There are numerous problems with using the "old" method, including losing factory calibration data and all sorts. The data stored in the flash is different with new scopes than old, so when you downgrade to frig the serial, it can screw things up.

My mod just works. As always, at your won risk, but it's FAR less risky than the old way. That's why I did it...
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1467 on: February 12, 2014, 12:38:22 pm »
Hi Gizmo, hi GreySam

Sorry for the "Me Too" Post. I'm owner of a DS1052D with Firmware 00.04.01.00.02 too. I also want to upgrade my 50MHz Model to 100 MHz and i'm wondering if anybody have a "patched" firmware for the ds1052d...? Maybe its already answered in this thread, by i got lost after hours of reading...

GreySam, have you any further investigations to "our case"?

Thanks in advance.
    queaker



If you search the 1052D update flash for :

E5 01 00 A8 61 08 08 05 10 09 60 89 E6 7D 00 50

and replace with

E5 01 00 A8 61 08 08 05 10 01 60 89 E6 7D 00 50

(Change the 09 for a 01 at offset 9)

Then flash with that firmware, you should be working at 100Mhz. One other person, zdoe, did this last july. If you ask him nicely he may still have his custom flash file (although I dont remember the version)... :)
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 12:44:15 pm by Gizmo »
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1468 on: February 12, 2014, 12:43:29 pm »
Hi All,

Having followed this thread for awhile, i decided to buy one DS1052E. Last week, I received one DS1ET serial with 00.04.01.00.02 (HW 58).

I understand how to do both upgrade methods (USB and patch fw) but I would like to know if anyone has these answers:

Has anyone with a DS1ET serial number applied the downgrade-usb-upgrade method?  Having changed the serial to DS1EB, what was the FPGA version in the end (after returning to a 00.04.01 version)?

TIA

I've not looked at the .02 firmware yet, lacking in time. You could try the above method mentioned for the DS1052D (the byte replace). I normally would double check the disassembly, but if that exact sequence is present, then the code wont have changed and the byte swap should do what you need.
 

Offline queaker

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1469 on: February 12, 2014, 01:54:57 pm »
Really "zdoe"? I don't find any member with this nickname?!

Hi Gizmo, hi GreySam

Sorry for the "Me Too" Post. I'm owner of a DS1052D with Firmware 00.04.01.00.02 too. I also want to upgrade my 50MHz Model to 100 MHz and i'm wondering if anybody have a "patched" firmware for the ds1052d...? Maybe its already answered in this thread, by i got lost after hours of reading...

GreySam, have you any further investigations to "our case"?

Thanks in advance.
    queaker



If you search the 1052D update flash for :

E5 01 00 A8 61 08 08 05 10 09 60 89 E6 7D 00 50

and replace with

E5 01 00 A8 61 08 08 05 10 01 60 89 E6 7D 00 50

(Change the 09 for a 01 at offset 9)

Then flash with that firmware, you should be working at 100Mhz. One other person, zdoe, did this last july. If you ask him nicely he may still have his custom flash file (although I dont remember the version)... :)
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1470 on: February 12, 2014, 01:59:58 pm »
Really "zdoe"? I don't find any member with this nickname?!

Ah, in my private messages it says "zdoe, Guest". So not registered?

Either way, the process was that above.
 

Offline straycat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1471 on: February 12, 2014, 04:45:46 pm »
Hay guys, I would not recommend firmware upgrades unless stated by RIGOL. Firmware does differ depending on when it was made. Do the mod and stick with the original firmware.

Lol, some people are nuts. There are numerous problems with using the "old" method, including losing factory calibration data and all sorts. The data stored in the flash is different with new scopes than old, so when you downgrade to frig the serial, it can screw things up.

My mod just works. As always, at your won risk, but it's FAR less risky than the old way. That's why I did it...
LOL,. I agree yours is the safest way than changing the serial and mod no. Id rather stick with my original firmware
 

Offline electrolux

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 243
  • Country: gb
    • Photography
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1472 on: February 13, 2014, 11:11:07 am »
How come downgrading can brick the oscilloscope.
The funniest thing about this signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything its too late to stop reading it.
 

Offline Gizmo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1473 on: February 13, 2014, 11:22:28 am »
How come downgrading can brick the oscilloscope.

Rigol do no checking what-so-ever on the integrity of the data, so if for some reason the image is corrupt, you can quite happily brick the scope. Also if you happen to get a powercut during flashing it'll most likely brick the scope as well.

So in general, flashing is a *little* risky. Not massively. But people have had instances of scope bricking, so it's just a known risk...
 

Offline number7

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: changing the rigol DS1052E to DS1102E using USB , the dummy guide
« Reply #1474 on: February 14, 2014, 02:13:16 pm »
Hello All

Hi All!
This is my fisrt post on EEVblog :)

I think I will apply Gizmo's firmaware to increase BW up to 100MHz after I checked that just one byte changed ;)

diff <(xxd DS1000EUpdate.RGL.mod) <(xxd DS1000EUpdate.RGL)
7574c7574
< 001d950: e501 00a8 6108 0805 1001 6089 e67d 0050  ....a.....`..}.P
---
> 001d950: e501 00a8 6108 0805 1009 6089 e67d 0050  ....a.....`..}.P

I found the exact same hex string in FW v2.06.00.01.
So changing 09 to 01 might also be the key to open the 100MHz-door ?!
Can anyone confirm this for  v2.06.00.01?
Is there any other change required (checksum, ...)?

Thanx
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf