Author Topic: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions  (Read 18245 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6767
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« on: March 07, 2012, 05:39:37 am »
Dave,

Watched your video on the diptrace and looking at your problems there, suggesting you to watch the video -> http://www.diptrace.com/tour/ , trust me, the tour video is very well made. Oh yeah, don't worry, its not a tutorial video and it wont show you the boring noob info like what is a pad  :-\, I think its made for intermediate users.

Now, about your minor problems you encountered which is  totally understandable since you have time constraint :

- Library thingy, the "default" library editing is always pointed to your "own" library folder, to change/move the "default/system" library, its in the diptrace program folder and in the "lib" folder. Diptrace concept is to differenciate the system/default library vs user's library.

- Problem on adding your own made "test" library, you forgot to click the "add" button, thats why its not there.

- The long list of library can be sorted by alphabetically , or can be customized so you don't have to scroll along the long list of libraries and also put your favorites one at the start instead have to scroll thru it. Also you can have a scroll bar by clicking that small arrow under the library tab.

- Delete line, its pretty intuitive, you click on select tool or just right click, and hover across the line you want, and don't forget to click on it, and press delete button, pretty intuitive imo.

- About 3D view, I think you stated in the beginning that you have not downloaded the 3d library.


Anyway, thanks for making the video, great preview.


PS : I'm no way affiliated with diptrace at all, its just I really like it for the 1st time, and they will send a free lite version max at 500 pins 2 layers for free if you request it, although I'm pretty sure if they know you're the one who asked it, they might send the full version one for free. ;)
« Last Edit: March 07, 2012, 07:00:28 am by BravoV »
 

Offline shebu18

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 309
  • Country: ro
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 05:58:32 am »
Hy, nice video about diptrace!
Going through the tour will answer many questions. For changing a footprint by the attached pattern you need to add a footprint library from where to select the footprint. On the right corner you have add and clear.


I find it a great program for hobby use, and even a professional use.
 

Offline harnon

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • Country: au
  • Is this thing on?
    • My Personal Website
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2012, 10:10:09 am »
A couple of observations to add to BravoV's

- You can export full Gerbers from the trial version, however your design had more than 300 pins so it was over the pin limit (its just a useless error message)

- With the slow rendering on zoom it doesn't happen on my PC.... however I did read somewhere that if you change the drawing mode from DirectX it can fix this - look at View Menu >> Graphics Mode and try some of the other options.  I'd also try when you aren't screen capturing to see if that makes a difference.

- 3D mode is ok but there are quite a few missing components...
 

Offline harnon

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • Country: au
  • Is this thing on?
    • My Personal Website
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2012, 10:12:51 am »
Oh yeah, and if you send Diptrace an email asking nicely they'll send you a code to upgrade to 500 pin limit (still not for profit).
 

Offline novarm44

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: ua
    • DipTrace
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2012, 01:06:10 pm »
Greetings from DipTrace team!

First Thank You! for the great video with first-time customer experience - we will try to change some things in the program to make them more clear/visible based on the video.

In addition to all comments:

1. Freeware allows you to open/edit larger files (free viewer), but you can not add components / export gerbers for large files. 300 pin file will be exported with ease. The message is not clear, so we will definitely change it. BTW Started allows to export Gerbers of any size (the limitation is adding new components). The limitation applies to both Schematic and PCB.

2. Number of signal layers = 2, plane layers (power, ground) are unlimited.

3. Auto-router shown the warning message about too thick traces, that is why it was unable to route the board with fine-pitch component and thick traces.

4. 3D preview doesn't work because of graphics problem. Just select OpenGL in View/Graphics mode. You probably have Intel HD video (integrated into Sandy Bridge processor). We have the same issue, but were unable to fix it yet - all works smoothly (no exceptions, no warnings, the memory is ok), it just doesn't show anything.
 

Offline 2XL

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2012, 02:49:22 am »
Great video on DipTrace. 

I installed the 64 bit free version of DipTrace and also the 3D models on Windows 7 64 bit. 

Since installing this program my hard drive is constantly reading  and writing to the disk.  Its to the point where my computer is almost unusable.

It now takes a few minutes to power down and also a few minutes to boot up my computer.  The disk is constantly being access. My computer NEVER did this prior to installing this program.

I wonder what this program did to my computer!!!!

I'm a little bit leery of this program now.
 >:( :( >:( :( >:( :( >:( :( >:(

 

Offline robrenz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3035
  • Country: us
  • Real Machinist, Wannabe EE
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2012, 03:29:33 am »
I installed the same thing you did and I have no such problems.

Offline kaz911

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 839
  • Country: gb
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2012, 03:39:40 am »
Great video on DipTrace. 

I installed the 64 bit free version of DipTrace and also the 3D models on Windows 7 64 bit. 

Since installing this program my hard drive is constantly reading  and writing to the disk.  Its to the point where my computer is almost unusable.

It now takes a few minutes to power down and also a few minutes to boot up my computer.  The disk is constantly being access. My computer NEVER did this prior to installing this program.

I wonder what this program did to my computer!!!!

I'm a little bit leery of this program now.
 >:( :( >:( :( >:( :( >:( :( >:(

Well before you start accusing a piece of software for doing something on your hard drive - then why don't you try to figure out what is going on?

Just start Resource Monitor on Windows 7 64bit and it will show you which programs are using your hard drive all the time.

If it is "hidden" in one of the svchost dll loaders - you can use a Microsoft Powertool called Process Explorer to debug further.

I have Diptrace installed on 3 computers - and they are just as blazingly fast as before I installed it.

But then if you downloaded a hacked version - you never know what spyware you have installed..... **

best regards

/Kaz
** see here I accused you of installing a hacked version without proof.  Does that feel nice? I have the same weight of evidence for you installing spyware as you have of Diptrace is the bugger slowing down your computer. So before you accuse anyone of wrongdoing you should really present the evidence..... And sorry for accusing you of installing pirate software.
 

Offline TerminalJack505

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1306
  • Country: 00
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2012, 03:43:39 am »
Great video on DipTrace. 

I installed the 64 bit free version of DipTrace and also the 3D models on Windows 7 64 bit. 

Since installing this program my hard drive is constantly reading  and writing to the disk.  Its to the point where my computer is almost unusable.

It now takes a few minutes to power down and also a few minutes to boot up my computer.  The disk is constantly being access. My computer NEVER did this prior to installing this program.

I wonder what this program did to my computer!!!!

I'm a little bit leery of this program now.
 >:( :( >:( :( >:( :( >:( :( >:(

Are you sure it isn't your antivirus software scanning all the newly installed files?
« Last Edit: March 08, 2012, 04:17:58 am by TerminalJack505 »
 

Offline PeterG

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 814
  • Country: au
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2012, 04:13:13 am »
Great video on DipTrace. 

I installed the 64 bit free version of DipTrace and also the 3D models on Windows 7 64 bit. 

Since installing this program my hard drive is constantly reading  and writing to the disk.  Its to the point where my computer is almost unusable.

It now takes a few minutes to power down and also a few minutes to boot up my computer.  The disk is constantly being access. My computer NEVER did this prior to installing this program.

I wonder what this program did to my computer!!!!

I'm a little bit leery of this program now.
 >:( :( >:( :( >:( :( >:( :( >:(




The above reminds me a lot of windows hammering the swap file due to lack of ram.

I was able to replicate this by installing DipTrace on a virtual pc with win 7 and low ram.

I am thinking 2XL probably has MS Office and Norton Av installed crammed into 2GB ram. Both are heave resource hogs.

Regards
Testing one two three...
 

Offline 2XL

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2012, 04:32:33 am »
The version I installed was the free 64 bit version from the DipTrace Website where Dave got is.  No cracked version here.

The first time I ran this program it took about 2 minutes to load, which seemed odd.  During that time the hard drive activity was going crazy and my modem was showing that the computer was trying to get a network connection or find a network drive. Once the program loaded I checked the Task Manager and it was using 91% CPU constantly and accessing the disk constantly.  I then rebooted the computer which took about 4 minutes to shutdown and about three 3 to book up.  My computer always shuts down and boots up in under 30 seconds.  I uninstalled this program and the computer still is slow and takes a long time to shut down and boot up. 

Take this post as one user's experience.  If the program works for you great.  It did not for me and I'm pissed that it hozed my computer.

Kaz911, have  a beer and relax mate!  Your gonna give yourself an ulcer and high blood pressure!

 

Offline 2XL

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2012, 04:41:32 am »
PeterG,
I'm running Win764, 16GB RAM, ESET Security (not Norton), no virtual machine.
 

Offline kaz911

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 839
  • Country: gb
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2012, 04:55:11 am »
The version I installed was the free 64 bit version from the DipTrace Website where Dave got is.  No cracked version here.

The first time I ran this program it took about 2 minutes to load, which seemed odd.  During that time the hard drive activity was going crazy and my modem was showing that the computer was trying to get a network connection or find a network drive. Once the program loaded I checked the Task Manager and it was using 91% CPU constantly and accessing the disk constantly.  I then rebooted the computer which took about 4 minutes to shutdown and about three 3 to book up.  My computer always shuts down and boots up in under 30 seconds.  I uninstalled this program and the computer still is slow and takes a long time to shut down and boot up. 

Take this post as one user's experience.  If the program works for you great.  It did not for me and I'm pissed that it hozed my computer.

Kaz911, have  a beer and relax mate!  Your gonna give yourself an ulcer and high blood pressure!

haha you are funny. Again - you still claim it hosed your computer. You have been in Task Manager. That is not far from Resource Monitor - try and click it for fun and see which process is sucking your computer dry. (Task Manager - Performance Tab - Click the little button called "Resource Monitor" and you can see exactly which process is eating your juice.)

I do think it is ESET that is slowing your computer. That has a reputation for being a monster when it scans. And when you install the 3D packages you install a heck of a lot of files.

And regarding beer - naah it is 9am in the morning for me so to early. But I'll go for my normal daily 5 mile run.
 

Offline metalphreak

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 815
  • Country: au
  • http://d.av.id.au
    • D.av.id.AU
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2012, 08:17:55 am »
Why would a program that's not even running be accessing your hard drive...

You can get to Resource Monitor from the Performance tab in Task Manager. Takes less than a minute to identify the process at fault.

Offline Dagon

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: ie
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2012, 02:04:50 pm »
Quote
About 3D view, I think you stated in the beginning that you have not downloaded the 3d library.

Nah, it'll still display a blank board even without the models.

I'm running it under wine in linux and got the same blank gray screen when directx was selected, just needed to switch to opengl. Might be something about his drivers it doesn't like.  It's in View --> Graphics mode.


Quote
Oh yeah, and if you send Diptrace an email asking nicely they'll send you a code to upgrade to 500 pin limit (still not for profit).

Yeah, got that off them to. Don't know what they don't just set it to 500 to begin with though.
I saw Elvis. He sat between me and bigfoot on the UFO.
 

Offline novarm44

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: ua
    • DipTrace
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2012, 02:20:19 pm »
Quote
Yeah, got that off them to. Don't know what they don't just set it to 500 to begin with though.
To let people tell about that on forums :)
Also 500-pin version can easily open and export to gerber 10,000 pin layout (no limitation for viewing and exporting). Freeware can export up to 300 pins only.
 

Offline Dagon

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: ie
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #16 on: March 09, 2012, 03:41:06 pm »
Quote
To let people tell about that on forums

Good point.
I saw Elvis. He sat between me and bigfoot on the UFO.
 

Offline pachuma

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: es
    • electroFUN
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2012, 12:26:59 pm »
Big show stopper on a Mac!

I was hoping to migrate from Eagle CAD to some other CAD software (never was a big fan of Eagle, but it worked on a Mac) and when trying to execute DIPtrace on a Mac with OSX Lion - mec!!! No go at all.

The application stays in the splash screen forever.

Has anybody had any joy at executing DIPtrace on a Mac with OSX Lion?
 

Online EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31246
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2012, 12:47:02 pm »
DIPtrace have given me a license code to enable the Non-Profit (Lite) version for 500 pins for those who ask.
Can't make it public, but if you want it, message me.

Dave.
 

Offline Armin_Balija

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 161
  • Country: 00
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #19 on: March 10, 2012, 12:50:58 pm »
Big show stopper on a Mac!

I was hoping to migrate from Eagle CAD to some other CAD software (never was a big fan of Eagle, but it worked on a Mac) and when trying to execute DIPtrace on a Mac with OSX Lion - mec!!! No go at all.

The application stays in the splash screen forever.

Has anybody had any joy at executing DIPtrace on a Mac with OSX Lion?

You have to download the proper version of some other program (I don't recall the name) that is on their site. I emailed them about it a while ago and their response was this:

Dear Armin,

2.6.3 is for Snow Leopard only, for Leopard (10.5.8) you should use 2.4.0. See here: http://www.diptrace.com/download.php

More recent version doesn't mean compatible version, also only XQuartz works properly in some cases (native Apple X11 doesn't work).

Regards,
Stan.

Now this is for Leopard (albeit an older version) But it goes the same for Tiger.
Cheers

Armin
 

Offline harnon

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 215
  • Country: au
  • Is this thing on?
    • My Personal Website
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #20 on: March 10, 2012, 01:02:44 pm »
DIPtrace have given me a license code to enable the Non-Profit (Lite) version for 500 pins for those who ask.
Can't make it public, but if you want it, message me.
Dave.

Dave, anybody can get a code by just contacting DipTrace via their website...
 

Offline pachuma

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: es
    • electroFUN
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #21 on: March 10, 2012, 01:58:18 pm »
I'll download XQuarz and give it a shot, I'll keep you posted.
 

Offline pachuma

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: es
    • electroFUN
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #22 on: March 10, 2012, 09:12:20 pm »
More or less it works on Mac. The only main problem that I am finding is that the mouse pointer is way of center. So you have to click with th bottom of the mouse point, as opposed to the mouse pointer!

Anyway, I'll give it a shot see how it turns out.
 

Offline novarm44

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: ua
    • DipTrace
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2012, 06:04:44 am »
Quote
Dave, anybody can get a code by just contacting DipTrace via their website...

If you plan to buy DipTrace (any edition, including Non-Profit versions), you can do that directly from Dave, to support his blog. Dave can also provide you with Non-Profit Lite Edition in the same way as we do on DipTrace web-site.

Regards,
Stanislav Ruev
DipTrace Senior Developer
« Last Edit: March 11, 2012, 06:07:04 am by novarm44 »
 

Offline firewalker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2364
  • Country: gr
Re: EEVblog #255 - DIPtrace PCB CAD - First Impressions
« Reply #24 on: March 11, 2012, 09:41:37 am »
DIPtrace have given me a license code to enable the Non-Profit (Lite) version for 500 pins for those who ask.
Can't make it public, but if you want it, message me.

Dave.

I am under the impression that everyone can ask a key Lite version for free.

Alexander.
Become a realist, stay a dreamer.

 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf