Author Topic: First Multimeter Purchase  (Read 5847 times)

Offline JSLTopic starter

First Multimeter Purchase
« on: September 20, 2010, 04:15:21 pm »
I am attempting to purchase my first multimeter and finding it difficult to choose one. Let me give you my background and needs, so that perhaps you can suggest what would be best. I am a computer science PhD student and my research focuses on 3D printing. I hope to mostly make use of Arduinos and already designed parts (may require soldering), however I may do some small circuit design using AVRs and ICs. I believe temperature measurement could be important for my research, however I believe a dedicated temp meter would probably give me better accuracy that a multimeter with temp built in.

My lab has some older Radio Shack ($50-$60) multimeters and several lower cost ones. They are a bit dodgy with how well they work and the features that they have. I have decided to teach myself electronics, partly for my research and also because it is really interesting to me. I purchased the Make Electronics book and I have both component kits to take me through almost the entire book contents. Besides a soldering iron (which my lab has) my one lacking tool is a good multimeter.

I know that I will use continuity and resistance a lot, but I am not sure about other features. I have heard capacitance is not important and is important, so I'm not sure what to think about that. I have never used a cap greater than 100uF, but it is possible I will go up higher, however those are usually labelled well anyway. Is true RMS important if I am probably not going to measure mains?  I can spend about $100, with a little wiggle room. The BK Precision 2709 seems like the best option, except possibly for the beep, however I am unsure.