Author Topic: Franky's sales thread  (Read 213852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kenjutsu

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: 00
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #25 on: June 12, 2014, 06:57:51 pm »
^^ I am also interested in that..
+1

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15067
  • Country: za
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #26 on: June 12, 2014, 07:08:19 pm »
DC load is made in China, and comes with some not totally crappy windows based software to use it with, and misuses a USB connector to have a USB-serial dongle for communications. Do not lose the cable or think it is a simple USB cable, it is not.

Works well enough in my limited testing, and will test batteries well, as it has a 4 wire test jig ( for 18650 cells) and otherwise needs a 4 wire connection to the battery under test. Needs a separate 12v supply to power the internal electronics.
 

Offline aroby

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 206
  • Country: us
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #27 on: June 12, 2014, 07:23:30 pm »
@SeanB - did you buy it from Franky or elsewhere?

Anthony
 

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Franky's sales thread - DC load/battery capacity tester
« Reply #28 on: June 12, 2014, 11:14:27 pm »
Thanks for the interest guys! It's one of those items I have had on the shelf for ages but never had the time to actually list it up for sale :) Some more details here on Martin's forum posted a while ago: http://mjlorton.com/forum/index.php?topic=468.0 I'll honour the same $35 price to members here, worldwide regular air mail shipping included, $2.4 extra for tracking.
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 

Offline pickle9000

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2132
  • Country: ca
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #29 on: June 12, 2014, 11:50:32 pm »
I'd be interested.
 

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Franky's sales thread - DC load/battery capacity tester
« Reply #30 on: June 13, 2014, 02:35:52 am »
I'd be interested.

Thanks! Please PM me your Paypal email address so I can send you an invoice. Please also let me know if you would like the package shipped with or without tracking.

Here's a photo of what's included in the package:


The PC software for controlling the device and plotting discharge curves will also be included. You will need a 12V wall wart or something to power it though.

Specs:
Power supply: 12V 0.5A
Voltage range: 0.1 - 6.0V
Current range: 0.1 - 2.5A
Operation mode: Constant current. It discharges the battery/voltage source at the set current until the set cut-off voltage is reached.
LED Display: Voltage/Current/mAh
**Note that the heat sink is rated only at 10W. Please provide extra cooling if operated at higher wattage.
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #31 on: June 13, 2014, 01:03:14 pm »
I've ordered one of the last of UT61E-s and it arrived today. It took 11 days in total (would be faster if not delayed by crappy post service here, they need 4 working days to move priority mail in the same city! :blah:).

Franky did excellent job in protecting the contents, even the outer box is undamaged. Thanks :-+

Glad to know it arrived safely! Thanks for sharing the pictures :)
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 

Offline shailesh3t

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Country: mu
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #32 on: June 13, 2014, 04:56:50 pm »
HI Franky,
kindly let me know how much does the power supply you are using for the test for the clamp meter
else do you have a picture of the inside, as it seems to be a nice one.
thank
shailesh
 

Offline Flump

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 500
  • Country: gb
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #33 on: June 13, 2014, 07:05:39 pm »
yeah more info on that psu please
quite like the look of that
 

Offline Creep

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 81
  • Country: lv
 

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #35 on: June 14, 2014, 12:33:46 am »
HI Franky,
kindly let me know how much does the power supply you are using for the test for the clamp meter
else do you have a picture of the inside, as it seems to be a nice one.
thank
shailesh

Yes, the link Creep posted above is the PSU I'm using. In terms of price, I most likely won't be able to compete with the Aliexpress price (for the free shipping countries). If I were to stock them it would probably be in the mid-high $60's shipped worldwide. It's a switch mode PSU but personally I quite like it. It's very compact and relatively light weight. And it doesn't overshoot. I will post more pictures as soon as I get a chance.
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 

Offline neslekkim

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1303
  • Country: no
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #36 on: June 14, 2014, 08:40:42 am »
Yes, the link Creep posted above is the PSU I'm using. In terms of price, I most likely won't be able to compete with the Aliexpress price (for the free shipping countries). If I were to stock them it would probably be in the mid-high $60's shipped worldwide. It's a switch mode PSU but personally I quite like it. It's very compact and relatively light weight. And it doesn't overshoot. I will post more pictures as soon as I get a chance.

The aliexpress price for me on that one is $61.75, so if you sold them with price mid-high $60's, I don't see the problem.. it's not that much more expensive, and its better to buy from you than some random aliexpress store...
 

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Franky's sales thread - Gopher CPS-3205 Switch Mode PSU
« Reply #37 on: June 14, 2014, 03:01:40 pm »
The aliexpress price for me on that one is $61.75, so if you sold them with price mid-high $60's, I don't see the problem.. it's not that much more expensive, and its better to buy from you than some random aliexpress store...

Thanks for the vote of confidence :) If there's enough interest on this PSU I may very well stock some and start selling. At least these are not as heavy as linear PSU's so shipping would not be as troublesome and costly.

I had a few minutes (literally) earlier today at the shop to open it up and take just a few pictures. The Aliexpress link above (not mine) has a lot of exterior pictures so I only took a few of the innards. Didn't really have time to disassemble it any further for more pictures (and the front panel digital board doesn't look very interesting anyway).

Click on the images for full resolution.




When I first got it some time ago I tested the output on/off performance to see if there was any overshoot/spike and there was none. I may post some waveforms later when I get a chance.

It's small and light and very portable which makes it very handy when I need to do some quick tests away from my main bench. A few notes about it:
1. The output terminals are at the back, which is not a big deal as it's so small and portable.
2. The output terminals do not have the standard 19mm spacing between them. They are floating by the way. The negative terminal is not connected to mains earth.
3. The current reading has an offset of about 15-20mA. Don't expect it to be a precision PSU :)
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 

Offline jinzo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: si
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #38 on: June 14, 2014, 03:12:10 pm »
I'm actually shopping for something like that (looking around for a bit now, because I have some other stuff to do before I get a PSU) and would be interested in it. Looks like a nice little supply.
 

Offline retiredcaps

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3310
  • Country: ca
Re: Franky's sales thread - Gopher CPS-3205 Switch Mode PSU
« Reply #39 on: June 14, 2014, 03:38:28 pm »
Thanks for the vote of confidence :) If there's enough interest on this PSU I may very well stock some and start selling. .

I had a few minutes (literally) earlier today at the shop to open it up and take just a few pictures.
Be aware, I see Capxon brand capacitors inside, possibly the worst brand in existance today.  Don't be surprised if the unit fails after 3 or 4 years.
 

Offline shailesh3t

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Country: mu
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #40 on: June 14, 2014, 03:50:39 pm »
Thanks for the pictures Franky,
the knob for voltage is it a rotary encoder? else whats the resolution you have when you change the voltage
thanks
shailesh
 

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #41 on: June 14, 2014, 03:59:48 pm »
Thanks for the pictures Franky,
the knob for voltage is it a rotary encoder? else whats the resolution you have when you change the voltage
thanks
shailesh

Yes, it's a rotary encoder. You push it to toggle between the digits. You can set the V and A down to 0.01V and 0.01A (above 1A)/1 mA (below 1A) resolution.
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Franky's sales thread - Gopher CPS-3205 Switch Mode PSU
« Reply #42 on: June 14, 2014, 04:01:26 pm »
Be aware, I see Capxon brand capacitors inside, possibly the worst brand in existance today.  Don't be surprised if the unit fails after 3 or 4 years.

 Thanks for the advice. I will probably replace them before disaster strikes!
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 

Offline multiJ

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: gr
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #43 on: June 14, 2014, 08:12:04 pm »
I received my UT61E from Franky as well. Very fast shipping and nice packaging as mentioned before. It took two weeks (10 working days) to arrive in Greece, which is one week less than it usually takes for post from HK. Thanks Franky.
 

Offline echen1024

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • Country: us
  • 15 yo Future EE
Re: Franky's sales thread - Gopher CPS-3205 Switch Mode PSU
« Reply #44 on: June 14, 2014, 10:02:41 pm »
Be aware, I see Capxon brand capacitors inside, possibly the worst brand in existance today.  Don't be surprised if the unit fails after 3 or 4 years.

 Thanks for the advice. I will probably replace them before disaster strikes!
Oh dear... the curse of the crapxons strike again
I'm not saying we should kill all stupid people. I'm just saying that we should remove all product safety labels and let natural selection do its work.

https://www.youtube.com/user/echen1024
 

Offline motocoder

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 768
  • Country: us
  • Electrical Engineer
Re: Franky's sales thread - Gopher CPS-3205 Switch Mode PSU
« Reply #45 on: June 15, 2014, 08:43:19 am »
Thanks for the vote of confidence :) If there's enough interest on this PSU I may very well stock some and start selling. At least these are not as heavy as linear PSU's so shipping would not be as troublesome and costly.

Please do. People in Washington State (which is where I am) can't purchase from AliExpress due to some legal conflict with their escrow set-up. I would definitely buy one from you to use as something portable that I could take with me to power a prototype during a demo or whatever.

Thanks
 

Offline kripton2035

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1756
  • Country: fr
    • kripton2035 schematics repository
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #46 on: June 15, 2014, 11:33:44 am »
if there is a model of this smps power supply with some 10 amps, I would take one too.

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #47 on: June 15, 2014, 12:14:09 pm »
if there is a model of this smps power supply with some 10 amps, I would take one too.

There actually is one 30V 10A model, CPS-3010. You can find some sellers on Aliexpress. Curiously though the faceplate has the brand name "GOPHERT" instead of "GOPHER" as in my 3205 model. From what I can tell it's either made by the same manufacturer (who can't spell the same name the same way twice), or an exact clone (if there was an "original"). If you're really interested I can get one for you at a similar price point as the Aliexpress sellers.
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 

Offline neslekkim

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1303
  • Country: no
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #48 on: June 15, 2014, 12:26:25 pm »
if there is a model of this smps power supply with some 10 amps, I would take one too.

There actually is one 30V 10A model, CPS-3010. You can find some sellers on Aliexpress. Curiously though the faceplate has the brand name "GOPHERT" instead of "GOPHER" as in my 3205 model. From what I can tell it's either made by the same manufacturer (who can't spell the same name the same way twice), or an exact clone (if there was an "original"). If you're really interested I can get one for you at a similar price point as the Aliexpress sellers.


I see that these (5a and 10a) models have cc and cv, but do they have current limiting?

Looks like they exists in a variety of models, 60v-3a, 60v-5a, 16v-10a and so on, those are named gophert,
« Last Edit: June 15, 2014, 12:34:17 pm by neslekkim »
 

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Franky's sales thread
« Reply #49 on: June 15, 2014, 12:48:27 pm »
I see that these (5a and 10a) models have cc and cv, but do they have current limiting?

Looks like they exists in a variety of models, 60v-3a, 60v-5a, 16v-10a and so on, those are named gophert,

Yes, you can set your voltage and current limits, by flipping the V/A switch next to the display and using the rotary encoder. I will try to run some tests to see how well the current limiting works as soon as I get a chance. It will all be based on my own 3205 model though as I don't have the other ones in the series.
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf