General > Buy/Sell/Wanted

Junior EE Student Looking for bench equipment

(1/3) > >>

MikeJuszkie:
I am a junior Electrical Engineering Student at Umass Lowell and I am currently am looking to build up my own electronics lab. Right now I am using a function generator that i made from a kit off of Jameco electronics,and a regular hand held multimeter. I have a good amount of components that I have collected over the years. I am looking for suggestions of what kind and tips to acquire these items

-Oscilloscope
-Function Generator
-DC Power supply

I have asked around the school but no one seems to be willing to part with any equipment any time soon, and this is makeing it hard for me to find deals a college student can afford.

Thank you for any assistance you may give

Bored@Work:

--- Quote from: MikeJuszkie on October 19, 2011, 05:11:05 am ---I am looking for suggestions of what kind and tips to acquire these items

-Oscilloscope
-Function Generator
-DC Power supply

--- End quote ---

For each of these items we had multiple extensive discussions in the past. Please read them.

Oscilloscope: Cheap used analog oscilloscope, hackable Rigol, hackable Hantek, or, if you can afford it, Agilent 2000X or 3000X.

Function generator: Rigol DS1022 (although I hate it), or DDS-3x25 (cheap, only usable with other software), or something used from the old HP

DC power supply: cheap Chinese duals 30V 3A. There are hundreds of "brands", and it is a bit of a gamble what quality you get. Or DIY, which is usually not cheaper, but ...

Ronnie:
If you are located in Massachusetts then you can check Test Equipment Depot http://www.testequipmentdepot.com/ which sells new and used equipment.
It is located at 99 Washington Street, Melrose, MA 02176-6024
Phone: 781.665.1400 / 800.517.8431
Fax: 781.665.0780
email: sales@testequipmentdepot.com

alm: