Author Topic: 3D Printer yet?  (Read 323954 times)

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
Re: 3D Printer yet?
« Reply #225 on: October 10, 2019, 12:21:42 pm »
Speaking of which...

I was looking at getting a 0.4mm nozzle (only 0.2, 0.6, 0.8 supplied) but, as a newbie, I am yet to learn about the subtleties of various "standards" (if you can call them that).

The Micro Swiss stuff that came with my purchase makes reference to MK10.  To give me a head start on this topic - can anyone give me the executive summary on what nozzles I can use?

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #226 on: October 12, 2019, 10:45:04 am »
Scratch that.

It only took me a couple of videos to pick up on the context of the term "MK10".  Then a quick check on eBay confirmed my understanding.

The journey continues.

Offline beanflying

• Super Contributor
  • Toys so very many Toys.
« Reply #227 on: October 12, 2019, 10:57:58 am »
Buy a small pack of 0.4 nozzles as they do wear over time. 0.2 tried it once and put it away buy 0.6 and fatter layers for big prints I must give a go. 0.8 I doubt you could feed sufficient heat into the standard block heater to keep up.
Coffee, Food, R/C and electronics nerd in no particular order. Also CNC wannabe, 3D printer and Laser Cutter Junkie and just don't mention my TEA addiction....

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #228 on: October 12, 2019, 11:54:47 am »
The two nozzles I have that are off the machine have a shoulder between the hex sides and the thread - but some of the nozzles I've seen on eBay under the MK10 description don't.  This seems to be the case for the really cheap nozzles (like 5 for $2) - but I'm feeling wary.

If the heater block has provision for this shoulder and I get nozzles without it, then there's going to be an air gap - and that's not going to transfer heat nearly as well.  Am I right in thinking this could cause me problems - and that I should make sure I get nozzles with the shoulder?

Offline beanflying

• Super Contributor