Author Topic: Accessing a "headless" linux "server" from a webbrowser on a LAN?  (Read 857 times)

Offline The SoulmanTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • The sky is the limit!
Goal: remote 24/7 data-logging of various pieces of test equipment connected via usb (gpib) and serial port by running HKJ's testcontroller and/or picolog/picoscope software, and being able to access that
software/desktop from a (windows) computer via the web-browser by entering the assigned ip-address in the same way as you would access the user interface of a router or solar-inverter etc.
Just a hobby, nothing mission-critical.
I'm sure something like that has been done before but my google-fu fails me.

I have zero linux experience, but this could be a nice way to get my feet wet.

Please advice on what hardware (rpi? multiple serial ports?) and software (mint?) to use and how to set things up.

Offline jm_araujo

• Regular Contributor
Re: Accessing a "headless" linux "server" from a webbrowser on a LAN?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2024, 06:12:07 pm »
Thin Client running Proxmox hypervisor, with virtual machines (windows/linux/whatever) configured with needed software.
Can be easily managed remotely.
A used thin client from HP can be found for less than 100€ with core i5 (>gen6 for low power, <10W when idle), 8GB Ram min recommended, ssd capacity as needed.

For an easier solution, google about how to run RPi headless, not too hard but more limited.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2024, 06:14:56 pm by jm_araujo »

The following users thanked this post: The Soulman

• Frequent Contributor
  • The sky is the limit!
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2024, 07:18:50 pm »
Thanks, setting up a thin client isn't really ideal as space is limited and heat and noise generation is also unwanted.

Googling "rpi-headless" I've found some tutorials about setting up pi-os with vnc enabled using pi-imager, and at the client (windows) side using tiger-vnc to connect to the pi.