Author Topic: Admit your Brain lock  (Read 9609 times)

Offline mkiijamTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Admit your Brain lock
« on: March 28, 2024, 06:52:32 pm »
We all have them. Areas that we just can't seem to get our head around. I've been repairing electronics for almost 30 years, but transistors still baffle me. It's not because I don't get or can't get the concept. And not because I haven't read up on them, which I have about 100 times. For some reason, the info just doesn't seem to stick. I find myself having to re-read the basic function articles AGAIN.

Put it this way, I have junior techs that I show the ropes and answers questions from, and I wince at the day or times where they ask me how a transistor works beyond what the answer of "amps signals" or "switches" will satisfy them.

Anybody else? Brain locks?

Offline coppercone2

• Super Contributor
  • $
Re: Admit your Brain lock
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2024, 06:57:59 pm »
the PFC. Suddenly your taxes turned into multinational government affiliated enterprise level

I am supposed to do this why, for the sake of the power company??? >:( you think I can figure out if its going to work well in japan???  >:( >:(
« Last Edit: March 28, 2024, 07:04:23 pm by coppercone2 »

Offline Halcyon

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2024, 11:44:16 pm »
Regular expressions.

The following users thanked this post: Smokey, Siwastaja, JPortici, Sredni, harerod

Offline coppercone2

• Super Contributor
  • $
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2024, 11:54:29 pm »
also IEC connectors. I wired probobly at least 100 of them in various things with solder and crimps and I never remember which pin is what.

Transistors are not easy either. My first projects were with diodes. Easier, until you have alot in feedback loops, then they are awful
« Last Edit: March 28, 2024, 11:56:00 pm by coppercone2 »

Offline SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2024, 11:58:28 pm »