Author Topic: New member ... with an ancient scope :)  (Read 3538 times)

Offline TImusanTopic starter

New member ... with an ancient scope :)
« on: November 07, 2016, 10:39:21 am »
Hi all!

My apologies if this is in the wrong part of the forum, just wanted to say hi to the community, long time lurker but finally decided to subscribe and put out a message. I'm a Belgian freelance programmer currently living in Okinawa (Japan). Studied electronics engineering and general electrics a long time ago and left it for dead as I headed into the computer realm ... but recently decided to pick up the old hobby (although I most certainly consider myself a beginner again :) ) Thus slowly getting equipped with some decent lab material. This means much scouting on Yahoo Auction (Ebay is nearly non-existent here) ... some material I think you should really get new (soldering iron, ...) but I could not resist the temptation to see if I could find a 50$ scope (just for kicks).

And sure enough ... I could score an ancient Yokogawa DL3120B for just under that price  :-D Besides a very very faint screen burn the thing is fully operational. I also did not know (care) anything about its specs, I just remembered Yokogawa being quite a good brand and who can resist an orange monochrome screen? As far as I could find (Yokogawa does not like to give out manuals on discontinued products so it appears) this is a 10 Mhz scope with a 25MS/s / 12bit sampling rate. From what I can find in the menus on the scope itself it is quite elaborate on the amount of analyzer tools in there ... it even has a tiny printer installed on the top and two "memory card" slots :) But 10Mhz is of course not that much of a bandwidth.

Anyway ... I'm rambling ... my question is actually if anyone has any experience with this scope and its performance? Was this a decent scope in its day? Are there known "hacks" out there to increase its bandwidth or other?