Author Topic: Altium Designer or Eagle?  (Read 53695 times)

Offline BiOzZTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Altium Designer or Eagle?
« on: April 06, 2013, 12:41:10 am »
I started a job working at an electronics company that works mainly in mixed signaling and i was given a licence for Altium Designer v13.1.2 and was given the option to use either that or eagle

i have been using eagle for YEARS (well 6 years ... but im 21 thats a long time XP) and know it a fair bit

looking around it appears as if people used both and no one in upper management told me what they would prefer me to use!

is Altium worth relearning everything? or should i just stick with eagle?

it looks like i will mostly be starting off working with SMPS design or something of the sort ... tho im still going threw schooling in in class we use eagle and at home i have a professional version of eagle

by any chance do you know if altium comes in russian without paying extra and having all the files open-able in the english language version?

thanks guys!

PS: please no fighting ... im not after what has the biggest and most militant fan base ... if i want to see people punching them selves over a form post i would have mentioned my preferred MCU platform XP
My one regret in life is learning to speak English on the internet ...

Offline ve7xen

• Super Contributor
    • VE7XEN Blog
Re: Altium Designer or Eagle?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2013, 12:53:11 am »
Altium is much more powerful and nicer to use. I would avoid using it for free/open hardware projects personally, as it's a huge barrier for others to build on your projects, but for commercial work I think it's well worth the effort.
73 de VE7XEN
He/Him

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2013, 01:54:00 am »
thanks!
and yes all my personal projects are open and ill use eagle for that no matter if it takes a little longer to make it easier for others

but would you recommend learning it for work?