Author Topic: Am I in trouble  (Read 10962 times)

Offline Circlotron

• Super Contributor
Re: Am I in trouble
« Reply #25 on: December 22, 2016, 12:07:01 am »
^^ You would affect the future stock prices by your purchase, creating a paradox that would unravel the fabric of the universe

Offline Watth

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #26 on: December 22, 2016, 01:31:07 pm »
Quite apart from the question of insider trading, there's the question of patient confidentiality.

In the US, your doctor friend broke some very strict laws by telling what he did, and he would get into big trouble if it ever come to light. I'm not sure what the laws are elsewhere, but I wouldn't be surprised if other countries had similar rules.

Also, the fact that this was a patient confidentiality violation might have bearing on whether this would be insider trading... I'm not a lawyer, but I think this situation sounds sketchy all around.
^ This.

Acting on illegally disclosed information. And you know it's illegal since it comes from a frigging doctor.
Because "Matth" was already taken.

Offline Dave

• Super Contributor
  • I like to measure things.
« Reply #27 on: December 22, 2016, 01:44:49 pm »
What kind of a shit doctor discusses his patients' states of health with his friends over beer? ???
<fellbuendel> it's arduino, you're not supposed to know anything about what you're doing
<fellbuendel> if you knew, you wouldn't be using it

Offline BBBbbb

• Supporter
« Reply #28 on: December 22, 2016, 02:08:36 pm »
What kind of a shit doctor discusses his patients' states of health with his friends over beer? ???
Vast majority of them. Patient stories are common, this just happens to be a stock influencing one.

Offline Watth

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #29 on: December 22, 2016, 03:32:18 pm »
Vast majority of them. Patient stories are common, this just happens to be a stock influencing one.