Author Topic: Apple plans on leaving Intel architecture even for their PCs and laptops.  (Read 16681 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
The problem is Apple is considered fashionable, and PC manufactures clone Apple ideas from head to toe, including top tier PC manufacturers like Microsoft and the top sales trio (HP, Dell, Lenovo).
No matter how stupid an idea Apple makes, including soldered RAM, soldered SSD, obscure screws, adhesive seal, etc., PC manufacturers will clone.

This is why Apple's decisions matter to PC users. Just like iPhone has got rid of 3.5mm jacks, a number of Android phones have followed.

Well yes, I think you're right to a degree. I'm not saying all Apple's designs are bad, some are actually very good and I can see why other's copy. As for the 3.5mm jack, I think those that follow suite will piss off a lot of customers just like Apple did. This is largely the reason why the likes of Samsung have kept the jack or those that have removed it in favour of USB-C (like Sony) have at least given you an adapter in the box.

Apple puts an adapter in the box. 

Online Halcyon

• Global Moderator
The problem is Apple is considered fashionable, and PC manufactures clone Apple ideas from head to toe, including top tier PC manufacturers like Microsoft and the top sales trio (HP, Dell, Lenovo).
No matter how stupid an idea Apple makes, including soldered RAM, soldered SSD, obscure screws, adhesive seal, etc., PC manufacturers will clone.

This is why Apple's decisions matter to PC users. Just like iPhone has got rid of 3.5mm jacks, a number of Android phones have followed.