Author Topic: Applying to EE jobs in Canada, US, England, Australia or NZ without a degree  (Read 565 times)

Offline ZgnDmrTopic starter

For various reasons I don't have an EE degree. I've been involved in electronics for more than 10 years. Mostly analog electronics, I started with audio amplifiers, moved to homemade radios, from there back to audio amps, and finally in my university years I studied some analog IC design. Currently I build homemade opamps and radios. I don't really have any big projects, I mostly like to experiment with new stuff, so half of what I build doesn't even work, because I don't like making things I already know will work. Anyways I digress.

I want to try my chances at applying to EE jobs in English speaking countries. I know it's really, really hard for someone without an EE degree to apply to an EE job in a western country and get accepted. But my question is, is it actually impossible, or just really, really hard? Is anyone here have any experience with such a thing?

It doesn't really have to be an engineering job either. The only skill I have is electronics, and I'm okay with anything related to electronics. Being a technician or something like that is also okay. I watched Dave's video about applying to EE jobs, and he mentioned that doing electronics projects and documenting those projects can improve your chances of being hired. And I have made quite a lot of projects. Most of them are not big, and they are mainly homemade opamps.

My idea is to prepare a document to show the employers all my projects over the years and show them that I know what I'm doing and I'm eager to work. I can get a letter of recommendation from one of the professors in my university. She was specialized in Analog IC design and she thought that I was good at what I was doing, so I think she would give me a letter.