Author Topic: Purchasing a Multimeter  (Read 2634 times)

Offline rdelpellegrinoTopic starter

Purchasing a Multimeter
« on: January 20, 2019, 10:42:15 am »
I recently found that my super-cheapo-rubbishometer was no longer cutting it (You know the kind of meter I'm talking about - the ones that come 'free' with you Cornflakes or something). As usual, this realization comes in the middle of a something and so there is a degree of urgency added. Being something of a cash-strapped ignoramus, when it comes to purchasing electronic instrumentation - but a keen viewer of EEVBlog. And also being aware that the selection of a meter is a bit of a novice's minefield, my mind turned to Dave's BM235 as a safe and financially achievable option. I'm not a professional - well not a home anyway - so I don't need expensive brands. (In fact anything that would reasonably measure milli-whatever's would probably do - at least right now). But it is evidently time to get something better than I currently have. Dave's is a little over ten times the price of the last one, but you get what you pay for - sometimes.

Unfortunately - being in the UK - the cost and time for shipping, make buying Dave's product impractical.

However, due to Dave's openness about his product, and its sourcing, I felt that opting for a 'straight' BM235 would not go far wrong. To my surprise I was able to get my hands on one - at a very reasonable price - with next day delivery here in the UK.

Based on his discussion around this meter and generally in his many blogs. I believe I am unlikely to have wasted my money.

It would have been nice to buy Dave's version - as an additional gesture of support (and for bragging rights  ;)) and it is a shame that Dave does not get $credit for this sale - and I would guess  - many others. This has been purchased not so much on his recommendation as upon his explanation. Which  - to my mind - is the best sales pitch of all.