Author Topic: stagenation  (Read 1961 times)

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
stagenation
« on: September 07, 2018, 02:45:05 pm »
What would you do, if you had a project, you knew would work but you also know that you can't complete it?
I am in such a situation. I designed the hardware but i'm sure I can't finish the software. The project is basically a test & measurement device to test capacitors, leds, resistors ,diodes and inductors.
I don't mind opensourcing it.
Also a object hardness tester.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2018, 04:18:46 pm by Raj »

Offline SparkyFX

• Frequent Contributor
Re: stagenation
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2018, 02:56:40 pm »
If making it so far taught you something, then it was a good way of spending the time. Was it intended to be a marketable product in the first place?
What´s particulary hard on the software side? What would need to be changed to change that?
Support your local planet.

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2018, 03:58:06 pm »
I wanted to open source it anyways. But only after completing it. Now it seems I can't complete it. There is a lot of maths and timing problems that I can't do. Only the led and diode and resistor testing part works but that too needs user to calculate stuff on a sheet of paper.

Now i'm like. Here's the schematic, here's the idea. complete it and it'll be yours to reap benefit from.
I don't even know if someone has already done it.

So here's the concept-
it's like a curve tracer.
a,b,c are the pins of a microcontroller,like attiny85

pin a,b alternate between 5v,0v and 0v,5v for all components (except for polorized capacitor) respectively at certain speed

the arrows are probes.

the characteristics of the device are determined by making multiple readings at pin c, thus essentially turning the resistor at pin b, into a current shunt.