Author Topic: Big Test MFG says our Ethernet Chip violates the IEEE standard - are they right?  (Read 3690 times)

Offline metrologistTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Regarding cat5 vs. cat5e, I think it may be because the spec is guaranteed to 100m. Who here has tested this? I think short runs, 3m patch cables, is why I see reported Gbit speeds on cat3.

Some of the reporting here seems contradictory, but I am not a standards expert. Negotiating the highest common denominator is what I would expect. I only really care about what's happening at the port.

So I took a peak at the digital board and found https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/dp83867ir.pdf in qfn. I see all 16 data lines go off the backbone :-//

Edit: one thing I wanted to mention is that I had fiber installed and a new router. My PC had Gbit NIC, but I was only getting 10Mbps (simple speedtest.net). I changed the 10m patch cable and then got near the specified 1000mbps. I did not keep track of that cable.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2021, 12:15:44 am by metrologist »

Online ve7xen

• Super Contributor
    • VE7XEN Blog
Regarding cat5 vs. cat5e, I think it may be because the spec is guaranteed to 100m. Who here has tested this? I think short runs, 3m patch cables, is why I see reported Gbit speeds on cat3.

Some of the reporting here seems contradictory, but I am not a standards expert. Negotiating the highest common denominator is what I would expect. I only really care about what's happening at the port.