Author Topic: Can a computer simulation simulate another computer running another simulation  (Read 23330 times)

Offline xrunnerTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>???
I was talking with some guys on the local repeater, and we got into "what is reality" sort of discussions. I mentioned that some people hypothesize that we and our reality is simply some unknown intelligence's version of the "Sims", i.e. we are just a simulation "running" on some system we can't investigate. But yet we also have computers (simulated?) that run simulations ...

I'm not a computer scientist per se, but of course I know that a physical computer can run a simulation of the weather, an engine, and many other things in software. So what I want to know is,

A. Can a physical computer simulate itself or another entire computer architecture, in software (forget about why, just is it possible). I think the answer is ... yes?

B. If it's possible, then can a physical computer postulated above, running a simulation of a computer, and on that simulation of a computer, simulate yet another computer?

So in the physical computer, it's running a simulation of a computer, which is running a simulation of a computer.

No, I haven't been smoking any funny stuff, I am really stuck on whether that is possible or not. I don't know.
I told my friends I could teach them to be funny, but they all just laughed at me.

Online MK14

• Super Contributor
Yes.

(MK14 was not available, so automatic computer AI has produced the answer. Unfortunately the usual PC was faulty, so a simulation was run on another PC. That was also faulty, so a simulation of the simulation has sorted it out).

Projects such as DOSbox, fully simulate a PC.

EDIT:
Yes applies to both questions A and question B. But be careful you don't run out of resources and it can get impracticably slow.
https://www.dosbox.com/
« Last Edit: June 04, 2016, 07:46:40 pm by MK14 »

Offline chris_leyson

• Super Contributor