Author Topic: Career advice for a young player  (Read 2505 times)

Offline ganymedeTopic starter

Career advice for a young player
« on: April 29, 2023, 06:59:02 pm »
Hello everyone. For some background, I'm a student in my third year and I'm interested in power electronics. I've landed my first ever electronics interview last year in June at a big automotive company, did well at the interview, solved all their exercises and was offered an internship on the spot In the power electronics team. I was excited that I could finally use the knowledge that I've gained so far in uni. Fast forward to today and so far all I've done is write documents and waste a lot of time in meetings, time that I could have otherwise spent studying to get better at power stuff. The contract will end this month and they want me to continue, but I'm 60% leaning towards not doing it and just find a job in a smaller company.

I'm not sure what I should do... Stick to the live-sucking job hoping that I will get the opportunity to actually contribute or try to find another job, assuming one will come up - not many power jobies where I live. Or perhaps finish uni and then put myself on the market again...

Offline RJSV

• Super Contributor
Re: Career advice for a young player
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2023, 07:31:53 pm »
   That's a tough one, but I'm wondering about more details:
   Is it a contract, in absence of any unemployment benefits, assuming you get to end of this contract ? And does that cover all your living expenses, or are you doing both school and work?  Part-time ?

Even more to the point:  Do you, there, have a senior engineer, that provides valuable teaching, as you
work ?  That alone might be factor to stay on a bit.
   What about the university; are there advisors that can help with the choices ?