Author Topic: Cleaning soldering tips  (Read 1359 times)

Offline ergyaTopic starter

• Contributor
Cleaning soldering tips
« on: September 21, 2018, 10:30:48 pm »
Hi Everyone, I am new to this forum and I am also a beginner at EE related things. Did not find a sticky topic for soldering questions hope new topic is ok.

I have a new soldering iron, used it only 2-3 times and my tips just look really terrible:

At the moment I only have sponge, tried to clean with the sponge but no success. Are my tips ruined or this is normal and can be cleaned? If so, how?

Offline Eka

• Regular Contributor
Re: Cleaning soldering tips
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2018, 10:52:49 pm »
They can be saved. They just need some tinning.

The following users thanked this post: ergya

Offline Electro Detective

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2018, 10:59:53 pm »
If you're lucky the tip may be ok and just covered with ugly gunk,

it happened to me too when I first began soldering    |O

There are some great videos on Youtube on saving, cleaning and maintaining soldering irons   :clap:

and pretty certain a couple of posts here pointing to those videos

Offline JustMeHere

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2018, 11:10:55 pm »

Online Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2018, 04:41:53 am »
The first two show a glob of solder that would be better removed and the third one seems to have a small glob as well.  All of them appear to have burned flux residue.

This is nothing to be too concerned about, but cleaning them off will make future soldering easier.

I would suggest getting something like a metal scourer like this:

The holder at left is just to keep it in one place.