Author Topic: Cloning WinXP onto new hardware - workable?  (Read 6636 times)

Offline soldar

• Super Contributor
Re: Cloning WinXP onto new hardware - workable?
« Reply #25 on: January 17, 2019, 03:56:04 pm »
Don't hold me to this for every case but I understand that Microsoft had a deal with Dell to provide XP for turnkey systems as part of the price.   It may be that if you are installing XP on a Dell computer, you don't need an activation code.   I've got a few older Dells (pre I3, I5, I7 series processors) that I've installed XP on either from a Dell OEM CDROM or a generic CDROM.  The install never asked for a code from the COA for activation.  I don't know if it activated later when it got on the 'net.

Other manufacturers (hp, Gateway, eMachines etc.) may have worked out a deal with Microsoft for an OS license but I have no experience with them at all.
That is called a "volume license" and only works with the installation disk with the correct PID and the correct hardware (Dell or whatever). I have a whole collection of win xp disks with the different license types.
All my posts are made with 100% recycled electrons and bare traces of grey matter.

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: January 17, 2019, 06:04:21 pm »
The problem you are likely to have with new hardware is drivers, for example on my desktop I tried installing XP and Vista on separate hard drives I plug in and neither OS supported the onboard graphics.

You should be able to easily find a good used machine to have as a spare. Pick up a couple of them if you have room, it'll be fine.

Offline free_electron

• Super Contributor
    • SiliconValleyGarage
« Reply #27 on: January 17, 2019, 07:28:29 pm »
You write 'critical monitoring'. And you want to kludge something together ?  :palm:

First rule of engineering : if it works , leave it alone.

And if you really want to 'clone' this thing : go on ebay and buy the same machine.