Author Topic: Cross Road Future Decisions  (Read 1247 times)

Offline Kyle.tricaricoTopic starter

Cross Road Future Decisions
« on: October 18, 2021, 08:06:02 am »
Hey everyone!

New to the forum!

I’ve been directed here for some advice on what to potentially do moving forward with my career in electronics.

I’m currently studying an Advanced Diploma in Electronics and Communications engineering. I’m finding it difficult to learn electronics through this way, as I’ve always done my own research and learnt more independently.

This course will be done by the end of next year. With the option to move into a bachelor degree, which will be another 2 1/2 years, I’m unsure about whether it would be better to use that 2 1/2 years to gain industry experience, and make a start with me electronics career instead.

My question is: should I move into the industry after this advanced diploma, knowing I’ll get into a lower paying job, but gain industry experience earlier than others that continue on to do the bachelor.

OR

Do I continue on to do the bachelor, get into a higher paying job, and start moving forward with my career then, even though I’m finding the course difficult to follow.

Obviously this is a personal decision to make, but it would be great to hear some other experiences on the matter, maybe someone who has been in the same boat.

Thanks heaps!
Kyle.

Offline aargee

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Cross Road Future Decisions
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2021, 02:24:58 am »
Be aware that generally, a Bachelor's Degree used to lead you to a management position. There are few R&D technical roles in Australia and given the current state of the world, I'm not sure if you want to plan on looking OS for R&D work.
If you are a hands-on person, my first impression is to point you at industry after getting your diploma to get some experience - this is worth far more in job security.