Author Topic: Crypto currency: What are your thoughts?  (Read 8947 times)

Offline BicuricoTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Crypto currency: What are your thoughts?
« on: December 28, 2021, 07:18:30 pm »
Hi,

I am a 51 years old engineer.

I worked with computers since I was 10 years old and still today I spend most of my time with technology: CAD/CAM/CAE, CNC, CMM, but also spectrum analysis, TV, CATV and SAT reception and distribution, emulators, electronics, etc.

Yet, I have to confess that I suddenly feel like being part of the "old generation": my younger coleagues at work (former students of mine), in their late 20ies, early 30ies, all use some form of crypto currency. They have credit cards linked to their crypto wallet, they invest some of their money in Bitcoin, Dodgecoin, Ethereal, etc. They talk about their portfolios and basically consider all of that normal.

I, on the other hand, have my money sitting on a bank account without any application (the time to read the contract is more valuable that the interest rate offered). I don't invest in the stock market, either.

The only thing I have done is to invest in real estate.

The reasons for being so avid against investing in crypt currency or stocks is that I cannot afford to lose the little money I have.

But, I could, like my colleagues, take up to 1000 Euro play money and do investments. Yet, somehow I never done it.

But now I am reading more seriously into this new financial world and my conclusions are:

1) Bitcoin does seem like a pretty good Ponzi scheme.
2) I wonder were the different wallet providers get the money to pay 10% to 16% interest rates from?
3) It sounds all so easy, yet so complicated and obfuscated: it is hard to really understand what is behind it, even if the currency is based on "open source".
4) I roughly understand what a blockchain is, but then, do I really? Does the broad public investing in crypto currencies really know what a blockchain is?