Author Topic: Electrician to Electrical Engineer  (Read 10744 times)

Offline HarlanKingTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Electrician, Musician, Hobbyist
    • MakerMind
Electrician to Electrical Engineer
« on: December 15, 2015, 11:50:04 pm »
Hi,

I'm a 24 year old Electrician and am thinking of switching career paths. I enjoy working as a sparky, don't mind the pay and feel like there are many opportunities in the field right now, but I believe Engineering is my true calling. For all my technical training i received top marks in class, while putting in minimal effort. I realize EE is a lot different than trade school.

So my question is, how feasible would it be to switch into EE at this time in my life? Would it be worth it?

I feel like i could be mixing up my hobby with my career choices...

Oh, and I'll have a new family to take care of (baby's due Dec. 22). So realistically i'd be ~26 by the time i'd start schooling, 30 at graduation...

Thanks for your advice.

Offline vk6zgo

• Super Contributor
Re: Electrician to Electrical Engineer
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2015, 01:01:30 am »
Hi,

I'm a 24 year old Electrician and am thinking of switching career paths. I enjoy working as a sparky, don't mind the pay and feel like there are many opportunities in the field right now, but I believe Engineering is my true calling. For all my technical training i received top marks in class, while putting in minimal effort. I realize EE is a lot different than trade school.

So my question is, how feasible would it be to switch into EE at this time in my life? Would it be worth it?

Oh, and I'll have a new family to take care of (baby's due Dec. 22). So realistically i'd be ~26 by the time i'd start schooling, 30 at graduation...

Thanks for your advice.

You'll be 30 by then,whether you go to Uni or not!
Some Mature Age Graduates are in their forties,so it can still be done.

The downside is that Electricians make good money,University Students,zilch!