Author Topic: Elon musk free internet satellite  (Read 5185 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Elon musk free internet satellite
« on: December 22, 2018, 12:02:34 pm »
Hi,
Is this feasible? any ideas? ;)
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: Elon musk free internet satellite
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2018, 12:10:29 pm »
The simplest way to see why this is very unlikely to ever be the case, Is ask, how much data can the bandwidth channels used for a comms satellite handle, and compare it with the coverage area of said satellite.

There are very few times the end result would not be something resembling mcdonalds wifi, where it takes 10 minutes to connect, and when you do, your lucky to get multiple digit bits per second.

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2018, 10:27:26 pm »
Even if it is feasible on a technological level, it will be banned by local governments around the world.
Alex

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2018, 12:09:05 am »
It's possible, in theory, to design a satellite to transmit many small beams instead of one large one, but putting that into space would be asking a lot. Ground based P2P solutions would be way easier to implement.
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Cryptocurrency lesson 0: Altcoins and Bitcoin are not the same thing.

Offline rrinker

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2018, 04:36:27 am »