Author Topic: Elon Musk is a nice chap  (Read 148531 times)

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: Elon Musk is a nice chap
« Reply #825 on: November 20, 2022, 09:18:15 am »
It also didn't hurt that I was an hourly paid contractor at a major software company at the time and worked a lot of OT several summers in a row. 70+ hours a week earned me quite a bit of money and left little time to spend any of it. That's why I don't blame people at all for not wanting to commit to that kind of death march at Twitter. It's something you can do when you're in your 20s and single, for a while, but nobody with any sort of life can sustain it for very long and if it were demanded of me today I'd quit.

And that's exactly what Musk wanted. He only wants the ones willing to work crazy hours and sleep at their desk. Tesla and SpaceX are (in)famous for this culture.
If that's not what you are after, simple, dont work there. Remember when everyone said "Twitter is a private company and it can whatever it wants"? It works both ways.

If you are a young talented programmer willing to work hard then turn up the interview with a sleeping bag over your shoulder (I'm serious, do it) and your git repo printout and you'll get hired for a few hundred $k. Great opportunity for those with the drive.

The following users thanked this post: SiliconWizard

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #826 on: November 20, 2022, 09:23:33 am »
It is not particularly good time of year to voluntary quit, we are getting into Christmas holidays, much less hiring, I'd think with 3 months of severance most of the quitters will barely make it until they receive their first paycheck from their new employer.

Join the cue for the jobs. Meta laid off 11,000, Netflix, Stripe, Microsoft and many others, twitter is only like 5th on the list of biggest tech layoffs recently.

The following users thanked this post: SiliconWizard

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor