Author Topic: Essential electronics reading for a Mechanic?  (Read 722 times)

Offline SupernautTopic starter

Essential electronics reading for a Mechanic?
« on: March 10, 2024, 05:52:42 pm »
As the title suggests really, Im a light goods vehicle mechanic with roughly ten years experience. Ive recently been repairing/restoring guitar amps and effects pedals/racks from the 70's/80's, Ive had great success so far although most of it has been "Educated Shotguns" of parts to get where I need to go. This is all done on my own equipment and Im just making my way through jobs just to get some experience.

I can do basic electrical diagnostic work but im more familiar with mechatronics/systems diagnostics usually using a 12v feed with a 5v reference circuit for most sensors. I have experience using scopes to look for faults on vehicles but never with stand-alone electronics equipment. I feel like i can grasp most of the things im up against but silicon packages really throw me off sometimes.

Are there any books people would recommend reading that might help me out? Since the gear im working on is fairly old i don't need anything too intense, even something like old technical leaflets or books from Mullard, Partridge, Heathkit, Hammond, RCA etc. Also interested in early days solid state literature just so im well grounded (pun not intended).

So far ive repaired quite a few solid state amps, one valve amp, about 12-14 effects pedal repairs and re-capped some early 80's digital rackmount delays among other things. I just have a UNI-T UT89X and an old Regavolt variac that does 270v but only pushes 2 amps ( im hoping to buy another one soon)

Paper books ideally, i cant stand reading e-books....

Thanks in advance  :)

Online themadhippy

• Super Contributor
Re: Essential electronics reading for a Mechanic?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2024, 06:10:09 pm »