Author Topic: Fluke 8010A multimeter from Ebay a good buy?  (Read 19870 times)

Offline allanwTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
    • Electronoblog
Fluke 8010A multimeter from Ebay a good buy?
« on: May 15, 2010, 12:05:49 am »
So, if I can get one of these for around $40-$50 shipped from eBay, is that a good buy?

http://www.nationaltestequipment.com/unitDetails.cfm?modelID=2441

I already have a cheapie handheld multimeter and I'd only need a multimeter for bench use.

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: Fluke 8010A multimeter from Ebay a good buy?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2010, 12:17:05 am »
Only if you need a manual ranging bench meter.
As a general use multimeter any autoranging handheld unit will be much more versatile.

Dave.

• Frequent Contributor
    • Electronoblog
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2010, 02:05:28 am »
I can probably deal with the inconvenience of having to manual range. I ended up buying one for $35 shipped, probes included. As a student I'll skimp out as much as possible :P

• Frequent Contributor
    • Electronoblog
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2010, 06:19:03 am »
Hey Dave, I don't want to open up another thread to ask this. Which of these $100 oscilloscopes should I get? They're the only cheap ones in my area.

http://baltimore.craigslist.org/sys/1740738253.html
http://baltimore.craigslist.org/sys/1722818151.html

The 75MHz seems better but I can't find any information about it online, so I'm not sure it'd be easy to service (although it seems like you could buy the service manual from some sites)

alm

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2010, 08:14:29 am »
About auto ranging: IMO it's just a convenience feature, it doesn't make the meter any more versatile. Plenty of people who swear by manual ranging meters and swear at auto ranging ones ;). I wouldn't buy a manual ranging meter unless it had some other desirable feature, but I'd prefer an old Fluke (even if it doesn't have as much features) to any meter than you can get for $35 shipped new.