Author Topic: Fluke 85-3  (Read 30868 times)

Offline mzachariasTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Fluke 85-3
« on: September 21, 2010, 11:03:04 am »
Wondering if anyone here has had similar issues with a 80 series III Fluke. Primarily the problem is excessive current drain in "sleep" mode.

My 85-3 is five years old, purchased new from MCM in the U.S. Current drain in normal operation is around 820uA. In so-called "sleep" mode (auto power-off) it only drops to about 780uA. In other words, a battery hog unless you turn it off physically.

Even so, it actually pulls 9uA even with the switch OFF!

Otherwise, operation seems normal. I sent it in for factory service; hopefully they'll get it right - I have no experience with Fluke service.

BTW, talking with a Customer Service Rep implied that contrary to their stated policy, if one of these is returned for service and has not been abused, they will fix it free, not just for the original purchaser from an authorized dealer. I would suggest just don't mention eBay...

Mark Z.

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: Fluke 85-3
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 11:33:16 am »
I recall someone saying it's possibly due to leakage between the switch contacts?

Dave.

Offline Kiriakos-GR

• Super Contributor
  • !
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2010, 11:35:43 am »
Where is actually the DMM at the moment ?  
Is it at the Fluke " hands " ?

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2010, 11:41:16 am »
I shipped it to Fluke yesterday. Maybe about one week before I really hear anything.

Offline Kiriakos-GR

• Super Contributor
  • !
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2010, 12:15:09 pm »
Ok , if so , 
you will have to wait ,  test it after it arrives , so to verify how it behaves , and report back.

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2010, 12:15:28 am »