Author Topic: Fresh Graduate salary  (Read 13282 times)

Offline mttee2Topic starter

• Contributor
Fresh Graduate salary
« on: February 23, 2010, 01:43:45 pm »
  This may sound a bit silly.  ;D ;D
  Recently, I check out with my senior friend about his job at overseas. He is earning 5000USD per month. I am surprised as engineers here only earns RM5000(1429USD) per month.  ???
   I am still studying my bachelor degree in Electrical & Electronics. I am just curious what is the average salary offer in your country? Secondly, anyone knows where I can search for working environment info such as stability of job, living expenses, and taxation in other countries? TQ ;)

Offline rossmoffett

• Regular Contributor
Re: Fresh Graduate salary
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2010, 08:01:31 pm »
In the USA, anywhere from $45k to $75k a year, depending on geography, speciality and expertise.  This is for a Bachelor degree.
ArcAttack - A group of musical Tesla coil performers with semi-regular blog updates.

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2010, 09:10:36 pm »
In Australia it's anywhere from roughly AU$40K to say AU$60K per year. (US$35 to US$55K)
But it really does vary a lot, there is no rhyme or reason to it.
Sadly you often don't get much more with experience. e.g. I know guys with decades of experience getting under AU$80K
For electronics designs roles in Australia you are lucky to get over AU$100K at any level.
There is more money in programming, management, or sales.

Dave.

Offline Emyr

• Contributor
    • http://www.emyrderfel.co.uk/
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2010, 10:52:52 am »
Bear in mind that you can't simply use currency exchange rates to compare salaries due to costs of living differences.

Chinese wages are low, but a 660ml beer costs GBP0.28 over there  ;D

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2010, 08:00:08 am »
In Australia it's anywhere from roughly AU$40K to say AU$60K per year. (US$35 to US$55K)