Author Topic: getting a job as embedded engineer  (Read 4096 times)

Offline ccesarettoTopic starter

getting a job as embedded engineer
« on: August 19, 2012, 10:23:00 pm »
Hello guys.
I have been a software engineer for 10 years, first web developer and then moved to .NET C# and MFC C++.
In my spare time I produce and sell on my website some USB controllers for the racing simulation market. Nothing too complicated, mainly LCD and LED displays.

I would like to move to a new position, ideally writing firmware for microcontrollers or something similar.
I don't consider myself an electronic/embedded engineer because I know my knowledge is limited and I have never worked in the industry.
But I think I am a reasonable software developer, I can write applications that talk to my controllers trough USB, ethernet or RF links.
I have a discrete knowledge of electronics but I don't feel confident enough to apply to a position as embedded engineer.

Do you think there could be an interest for a profile like mine? Mainly a software developer but that understands the hardware and can work with that, with some limits?

I live in Cambridge, UK.

Thanks

Offline mtkaalund

• Contributor
Re: getting a job as embedded engineer
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2012, 11:20:38 pm »
Hey ccesaretto,

First I would like to say, that I have seen people with your profile being hired to do embedded software, so it is possible.
That being said if I was looking for a embedded software developer / engineer I would not hire,
somebody with your profile.
Mainly because of the lack of knowledge / experience in the field, remember that most embedded projects you don't have a lot of
resources to do what need to be done.  But you can be lucky and the company is doing some object  oriented programming on a dsp, arm etc. Then you properly there man.

Good luck in your new adventure.

"Keep buggering on" -- Winston Churchill
VIR => V = I*R, neat ;)

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog