Author Topic: Hacker triggeres all 156 emergency sirens in Dallas, Texas  (Read 14774 times)

Offline Homer J SimpsonTopic starter

• Super Contributor

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Hacker triggeres all 156 emergency sirens in Dallas, Texas
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2017, 01:11:14 am »
Some guy just had too much time and wanted to do some time.
Made me think stupid things I did when I was a kid. Me and a few friends bet who has the guts to call 110 (Chinese 911) using public telephone.
This is the closest I can find for dealing with naughty kids.   ;)

:horse:
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline xmo

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2017, 02:03:30 am »
I have no knowledge of the system in Dallas, but in many cities the sirens are activated by a radio transmission similar to the way a pager is alerted.

It would be fairly simple for a radio knowledgeable person to record the signal when the sirens are activated by the system, then replay the signal at a later date .

Such a "hack" would be virtually impossible to trace retroactively.  It's the sort of thing a person could get away with...once.

Offline Cerebus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2017, 02:04:12 am »
All 156 emergency sirens were activated around 11:40 p.m. ...

The Office of Emergency Management was able to turn off all the sirens by 1:20 a.m. ...

Not very good at "Emergency Management" if it took them the best part of 2 hours; not much sense of urgency in that response at all.

Rocky Vaz, director of the Dallas Office of Emergency Management, said authorities had to turn off the city's entire emergency system to stop the sirens.