Author Topic: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts  (Read 1144449 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline maxias

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: uz
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1375 on: February 06, 2019, 08:07:59 am »
Hello together, i have got a Gainward GeForce GTX 670 Phantom. it has a lightly different layout to the cards showing at this thread.
the bios chip is not on the back.


i have checked the resistors and maybe someone knows how to address them. especially the R3 i cannot find.
 

Offline Volkon

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ru
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1376 on: March 31, 2019, 11:27:55 am »
Hi friends!
I want to share my experience.
How I cracked a titan black EVGA graphics card into a Quadro K6000 graphics card.
Below is a photo with the work done.
Back side:
« Last Edit: March 31, 2019, 11:33:12 am by Volkon »
 

Offline Volkon

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ru
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1377 on: May 12, 2019, 11:34:13 am »
Hello!
After I hacked the Titan Black EVGA graphics card, I used the original BIOS from the Quadro K6000 graphics card.
But after loading the operating system, when the driver 411.81 was loaded, the desktop of the system began to appear with artifacts (photo 1). After some time, the video driver stops responding and the system throws a driver error.

At the same time, the system works fine with the BIOS from the Titan Black graphics card (except for its limited functional capabilities).
Did anyone manage to change the BIOS of the Quadro K6000 card so that the titan Black card works as efficiently as possible for CAD-systems?
Share, please, who knows something about this.
 

Offline maxias

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: uz
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1378 on: May 23, 2019, 07:00:56 am »
i have a general question, does this hardware mod let for instance a GTX 670 work as a workstation K5000 card? im a solidworks user and im asking if it only enables "realview" in the same way as the software "realhack" does? or is the improve way more? better assembly performance? cheers
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1379 on: July 10, 2019, 05:56:29 am »
Im little behind on this topic but I just got Tesla K10 for very good price.
I am going to mod it to K2 and see if I can use vGPU
 

Online zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2003
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1380 on: July 12, 2019, 09:28:56 am »
Edit:
For those that are just spewing trash on HaD comments without doing a little research... the parts are identical, changing the Device ID just makes the binary blob advertise the additional features to the system, and enables them. It does NOT affect the clock speeds, and will not make the card faster for general day to day work unless you are using the specialised software that takes advantage of these 'professional' features. Changing the ID does not affect the clock speeds as they are configured by the BIOS which we are not touching.

And stock, the GTX690 is clocked FASTER then the K5000 and the Tesla K10, so you are getting a faster card in comparison, not making the GTX690 faster.

I repeat, this does NOT make your GTX 6XX card faster, nor does it make it slower.

A lot of people here did not get this point. Changing some resistors will not change the firmware to give more speed/functions in CAD software.
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1381 on: July 15, 2019, 09:56:51 am »
Tesla K10 to Grid K2 successful

I had to mod two resistors for GPU0 and GPU1
What I did was removed 25k and installed 40k to make it perfect match
Does GTX 690 also require modifying two resistors?

I also updated all the vbios to K2 so it looks like K2 now (updated PLX as well)
I will test vgpu functions in few days.
 
The following users thanked this post: obliverationizer

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1382 on: July 16, 2019, 07:23:04 pm »
Tesla K10 to Grid K2 successful

I had to mod two resistors for GPU0 and GPU1
What I did was removed 25k and installed 40k to make it perfect match
Does GTX 690 also require modifying two resistors?

I also updated all the vbios to K2 so it looks like K2 now (updated PLX as well)
I will test vgpu functions in few days.

Tested with ESXi 6.5 and seems to be working as expected.

[root@localhost:~] nvidia-smi
Tue Jul 16 19:14:11 2019
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 367.130                Driver Version: 367.130                   |
|-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
| GPU  Name        Persistence-M| Bus-Id        Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan  Temp  Perf  Pwr:Usage/Cap|         Memory-Usage | GPU-Util  Compute M. |
|===============================+======================+======================|
|   0  GRID K2             On   | 0000:07:00.0     Off |                  Off |
| N/A   63C    P8    28W / 117W |    517MiB /  4095MiB |      0%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
|   1  GRID K2             On   | 0000:08:00.0     Off |                  Off |
| N/A   69C    P8    29W / 117W |      9MiB /  4095MiB |      0%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+

+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Processes:                                                       GPU Memory |
|  GPU       PID  Type  Process name                               Usage      |
|=============================================================================|
|    0    119538  C+G   vGPU-test                                      508MiB |
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
 
The following users thanked this post: yeyus, obliverationizer

Offline PabloSniper

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: br
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1383 on: July 31, 2019, 11:58:02 pm »
Really thanks for the efforts of gnif and verybigbadboy
However, since I have a EVGA GTX670 with the same PCB layout like GTX660Ti
So I need to find the modification by myself and here is the result.
For the 4th digit, as everyone already knows, it is right on the position of resistor 1 and 2.
Depend on which card you have and you can remove resistor 1 and change it to tesla(40K), grid k2(40K) or Quadro(15K) on resistor 2.
For the 3rd digit, it is the tricky part.
As the low byte on the top side of the PCB with resistor 4.
You don't need to do anything for Tesla K10.
However, if you need to change it to a Quadro K5000 or Grid K2
You need to remove resistor 4 and install resistor 3 "MANUALLY" since no place for resistor 3 any more in the PCB of GTX670 and GTX660Ti
As you can see in my attached  bottom side photo for the "rework".
You need to connect to EEPROM pin 6 with a 20K Ohm and pull up to VCC.
My rework is quite ugly but it works fine!
Please be careful and take your own risk for modifying your card!!

Summary
GPU Name         Resistor 1 / 0-7 4th byte                  Resistor 2 / 8-f 4th byte                 Resistor 3/ 3th byte (high)       Resistor 4 / 3th byte(low)           
GTX 660Ti          20K                                                  None                                               None                                         25k                                                                             
GTX 670            None                                                10K                                                  None                                         25k                                                                             
tesla k10           none                                                40K                                                  None                                         25k                                                                             
quadro k5000    none                                                15k                                                  20K                                            none                                                                             
grid k2              none                                                40K                                                  20K                                           none                                                                           

Hello everyone, I'm turning a GTX 670 into a GTX 760 ti, could someone tell me the capacities of the GTX 760 ti resistors?
 

Offline crafty1337

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1384 on: August 02, 2019, 10:23:00 pm »
@storepool, @gotofbi, @brzez, Were any of you able to find the resistor location on the Tesla K10 for GPU1 and GPU2? I'm working on converting a stack of them into GRID K2 cards for a vGPU project. Also, were you able to determine if the GRID K1 and K2 use the same BIOS? I'm only able to find BIOS downloads for the K1.

Any help would be very appreciated. Thanks!
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1385 on: August 10, 2019, 05:23:35 am »
Anyone has bios dump of K2?
The one I used from HP is missing InfoROM and it looks like causing compatibility issue on certain system.
 

Offline namgorf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1386 on: September 11, 2019, 07:34:21 pm »
Anyone has bios dump of K2?
The one I used from HP is missing InfoROM and it looks like causing compatibility issue on certain system.

I just purchased a GRID K2 card off ebay, I'll drop the bios when I get it.
 
The following users thanked this post: gotofbi, obliverationizer

Offline namgorf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1387 on: September 13, 2019, 05:23:24 pm »
Anyone has bios dump of K2?
The one I used from HP is missing InfoROM and it looks like causing compatibility issue on certain system.

PMed you a link to it
 

Offline yuyun002002

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: cn
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1388 on: September 16, 2019, 05:55:50 am »
can you give me a grid k2 rom,thanks very much, i look for it for a long time.
 

Offline namgorf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1389 on: September 16, 2019, 03:51:44 pm »
can you give me a grid k2 rom,thanks very much, i look for it for a long time.
sent via pm
 
The following users thanked this post: obliverationizer

Offline obliverationizer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1390 on: September 18, 2019, 05:46:49 pm »
one 25k resistor on each GPU right?

I found one on each GPU but not two
 

Offline obliverationizer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1391 on: September 19, 2019, 12:00:30 am »
one 25k resistor on each GPU right?

I found one on each GPU but not two
I found the analog resistor locations, I ordered a 20 or so of different kinds, all SMD, all 40k rated. Anyways,the resistors are in different locations from GPU0 to GPU1. same chip, still two resistors out of four spots, different locations.

The one on the left side (looking at it where the 8+6pin is on the top left) is
45k, none, none, 25k.
and on the right side, it's
none, 45k, 25k, none.
(note this one is upside down when looking at it with the power connectors on the top left)
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1392 on: September 19, 2019, 09:35:14 am »
Anyone has bios dump of K2?
The one I used from HP is missing InfoROM and it looks like causing compatibility issue on certain system.

PMed you a link to it

Your Messagebox is full!!
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1393 on: September 19, 2019, 09:45:06 am »
For K10 to K2, its U504 and U513

Resistor packaging is 0402 and I used this one

https://www.digikey.com/products/en?keywords=P40.2KDCCT-ND


There might be some compatibility issue with some system which Im struggling with Dell R720

I think I really need proper bios dump
 
The following users thanked this post: TopHatProductions115

Offline yuyun002002

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: cn
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1394 on: September 19, 2019, 12:39:36 pm »
i sucessed k2=>k10 after change 2 resistors.
on dell r820, it works ok, but only with vsga, can not work with vGpu。
i think it may be due to the rom, so flashed with k2 rom(with override bord id), then system can not boot up, block by pcie scan.
i flashed back to k10 rom with other pc now.

Any one knows who to use vGPU , just like the real k2.
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1395 on: September 19, 2019, 07:34:48 pm »
i sucessed k2=>k10 after change 2 resistors.
on dell r820, it works ok, but only with vsga, can not work with vGpu。
i think it may be due to the rom, so flashed with k2 rom(with override bord id), then system can not boot up, block by pcie scan.
i flashed back to k10 rom with other pc now.

Any one knows who to use vGPU , just like the real k2.

Im pretty much same.
I flashed known K2 update bios from online and it worked fine in HP Z420
When I moved it to R720, it doesnt boot up at all.
I used HP bios and DELL bios and none of them boots up in R720.

Right now, im suspecting Inforom which is not included update bios from vender.
Waiting namgorf to share his dump :)
 

Offline namgorf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1396 on: September 19, 2019, 11:54:29 pm »
Just noticed I didnt reply to your pm, sent you links to both bumps
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1397 on: September 20, 2019, 12:10:02 am »
Just noticed I didnt reply to your pm, sent you links to both bumps

Your inbox is still full and I cant send you PM haha
anyway, what I wanted to say is that k2.rom and k2-2.rom are identical file (same HASH) ;)

I will keep tryin to send you PM if your inbox gets cleared haha
 

Offline gotofbi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1398 on: September 21, 2019, 01:12:35 am »
I really dont get it.
I flashed ROM from namgorf and confirmed that it has InfoROM
Still having this screen on Dell R720
I updated latest firmware on R720 as well...
It works fine on HP Z420 but not on Dell R720

What am I missing  |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O

 

Offline namgorf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1399 on: September 21, 2019, 10:35:01 pm »
Do you have a risercard in there, if so it could be bad. I also read somewhere that the R720 requires a dual 1100W PSU for certification and support of tesla and grid cards, confirm you've got the power delivery on the dell.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf