Author Topic: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts  (Read 1152497 times)

0 Members and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online Black Phoenix

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 352
  • Country: hk
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1400 on: September 24, 2019, 07:33:51 am »
Related with this subject, an Youtuber that is registered in this forum just used this topic as a reference for his project:




 

Offline namgorf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1401 on: September 24, 2019, 10:30:02 pm »
I watched these last night, very awesome. New sub from me.
 

Offline NobleX13

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1402 on: October 11, 2019, 02:01:28 pm »
I really dont get it.
I flashed ROM from namgorf and confirmed that it has InfoROM
Still having this screen on Dell R720
I updated latest firmware on R720 as well...
It works fine on HP Z420 but not on Dell R720

What am I missing  |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O |O

(Attachment Link)

Did you ever get past this?  You could say I am following in your footsteps from the shadows.  I just converted a Tesla K10 into an NVIDIA GRID K2 yesterday and I get the same result on my PowerEdge R720.

I soldered the strap resistors, reassembled the card with new thermal paste, and flashed the "2014" BIOS to each GPU.  I did notice the "PLX" entry in nvflash but didn't do anything with that.  Was I supposed to? The SHA256 hash of the BIOS file I flashed was BB04DF8552BF60B827E1C963B1D8527386D9448D554BC01799CE7F8605763951

My R720 has dual E5-2650 V2s, 128GB of PC3L-12800R, and dual 750W power supplies.  I saw the other post here about power delivery, but this card has a max power consumption at full load of maybe 200W, and my system power readout is only sitting at 280W with this GPU installed.  I am using a quick and dirty homemade power cable.  Please excuse the WAGO Lever Nuts.  I triple-checked the pinout and continuity with a multimeter, for what it's worth.

Right now I am using the riser connected to CPU2, because it was easier to install the card over there.  I ran out of time for troubleshooting last night.  I did not try the other riser, removing all other PCI-e cards, or enabling "Above 4G decoding" in the BIOS yet.  That is on the agenda for tonight.

I am running a BIOS version from 2016 to avoid the Spectre/Meltdown microcode mitigation.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2019, 03:14:38 pm by NobleX13 »
 

Offline foxxer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ru
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1403 on: October 25, 2019, 04:51:35 am »
Hello. Sorry for my English(using translator). Who knows how to use the HEX editor and understanding of the work of video card BIOS? I ask for help, it will not take much time, if there is knowledge.

I have a Quadro 2000 1Gb DDR5 card
There is a desire to flash it as a GTS450

There is info that for the reverse operation, i.e. for GTS450 firmware ---> Quadro 2000 need to alter the straps with the command:
C: \> nvflash --index = X --strap 0x7FFC2FFF 0x10006000 0x7fffffff 0x00000000

Those. IDs for cards differ, for picking up by drivers:
GTS 450 - 0x0DC4 - 0000 1101 1100 0100
Quadro 2000 - 0x0DD8 - 0000 1101 1101 1000

Tell me, what command should I type in NVFLASH with Q2000 so that the ID from the GTS450 is registered in BIOS?
Goal - so that the system after flashing a QUADRO 2000 card identifies it as a GTS450 and works with Geforce drivers

Thank you for support
 

Offline acidice333

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ca
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1404 on: October 31, 2019, 09:18:22 pm »
Could I get the K2 with the inforom dump too? :D
 

Offline foxxer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ru
Re: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #1405 on: November 01, 2019, 05:45:00 am »
here is rom for my Quadro 2000
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf