Author Topic: [MOVED] Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts  (Read 1161070 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Saibot

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #275 on: April 12, 2013, 01:19:41 pm »
verybigbadboy that you so much for all the great information ! :) i have now modified a GTX680 into a Grid K2 following your instructions , and i am running it in my VMware view 5.2 environment and it is working perfectly .
But it would be great if i could use a card with 3 or 4GB of memory  , but i don't want to buy a card if i am not sure which resistors to change. do you know of any such card ?

/Saibot
 

Offline SeSl

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #276 on: April 13, 2013, 10:28:11 am »
Hi, everybody! Thanks for an interesting topic.
To me it is most interesting "mod GTX 680" to quadro k5000. Now I have no any graphics card based on the chipset gk104. Therefore, I am

free in its choice. The most promising option I see GTX 680 + 4GB mem. For K5000 is important to have the largest possible volume of onboard memory.

With only one such card was a successful experience modding. EVGA 04G-P4-3687-KR GeForce 4GB GTX 680 mod to K5000. Unfortunately, reefjunkie did not

described  the details of this mod. It is possible, P?B was the same as with GV-N680OC-2GD
I consider following variants of devices:

Gigabyte GV-N680OC-4GD
photo#1reverse side
photo#2 reverse side
photo#3 reverse side
photo#4 reverse side
photo front side
Unlike the GV-N680OC-2GD, Y1 repositioned to the rear side. Different connectors resistors. Independently I do not find their location.

ZOTAC GTX 680 4GB [ZT-60103-10P]
back side
front side
Video card similar to GV-N680OC-2GD. It is possible, it would be similar mod. The board kept the reference design. It is strange that nobody had chose it for the experiment.

EVGA GeForce GTX 680 FTW+ 4GB [04G-P4-3687-KR]
Pictures with a PCB-s I have not found. Mod executed by reefjunkie described here However, no description or photos of the device before and after mods. If it is possible, reefjunkie , please give more details.
 

Offline amigo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 108
  • Professional Wannabe
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #277 on: April 13, 2013, 01:25:57 pm »
Looking at the new gtx 650 Ti Boost, it looks to be almost identical to the Quadro K4000 short the memory (same processor and cuda core count.) Would it be a hardware only or a require bios or softstrap mod as well to be done properly?
It is impossible to say until someone get bios from card.

ROM BIOS for K4000 is available here http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/130511/NVIDIA.QuadroK4000.3072.120813.rom
 

Offline amigo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 108
  • Professional Wannabe
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #278 on: April 13, 2013, 01:37:14 pm »
There's also PNY GTX 680 4GB - I have one: http://www.amazon.com/PNY-GeForce-Graphics-Cards-VCGGTX6804XPB/dp/B009MQTVTE which basically appears identical to EVGA one.

Not yet modded to K5000, thinking to put a dip switch so I can go between GTX 680 and K5000... :)
 

Offline amigo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 108
  • Professional Wannabe
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #279 on: April 13, 2013, 01:44:30 pm »
Hi, everybody! Thanks for an interesting topic.
To me it is most interesting "mod GTX 680" to quadro k5000. Now I have no any graphics card based on the chipset gk104. Therefore, I am free in its choice. The most promising option I see GTX 680 + 4GB mem. For K5000 is important to have the largest possible volume of onboard memory.

With only one such card was a successful experience modding. EVGA 04G-P4-3687-KR GeForce 4GB GTX 680 mod to K5000. Unfortunately, reefjunkie did not described  the details of this mod. It is possible, P?B was the same as with GV-N680OC-2GD

I consider following variants of devices:

Gigabyte GV-N680OC-4GD
ZOTAC GTX 680 4GB [ZT-60103-10P]
EVGA GeForce GTX 680 FTW+ 4GB [04G-P4-3687-KR]

Gigabyte board is not a reference, they have redesigned it (look it has 6+8 pin power connector).

Zotac has a board with 6+6 as well as EVGA and PNY (which I believe are identical).

I would probably go with EVGA or PNY (I have the later).

I believe that moving resistors around might only be half the process to get the true high-end features (SpecViewPref).

The system *will* detect the new hardware but it is possible that the ROM BIOS also plays a role in configuration it presents to the NV system driver. Thus ROM needs to be modded/flashed, or alternatively NV system driver hacked. Who's up for it? :)
 

Offline eos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #280 on: April 13, 2013, 02:51:33 pm »
EVGA GeForce GTX 680 FTW+ 4GB [04G-P4-3687-KR]
Pictures with a PCB-s I have not found.
Here is one (taken from http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=1664376&mpage=1)
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b147/ArcticSilver/EVGA%20GTX%20680%20FTW%204Gb%20with%20Accelero%20Twin%20Turbo%20II/IMAG0212.jpg
It's identical to the 2GB one and I think this is the reason reefjunkie didn't elaborate on what was done.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 02:54:02 pm by eos »
 

Offline eos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #281 on: April 13, 2013, 03:30:40 pm »
Here is an article about an utility to modify power states (P0, P3, P8 and P12)
http://www.overclock.net/t/964370/howto-dual-monitor-downclocking-fix-for-nvidia-cards
It seems to apply to any NV card...

EDIT
Here is an interesting writeup about nvidia-smi
http://microway.com/hpc-tech-tips/2011/12/nvidia-smi_control-your-gpus/
Couple things:
-it will (suppose to) work only on professional cards
-power state selection is semi-automatic

If the virtual GPU is passed to the VM in the P12 state (2D), no advantages of the modding will be realized (most likely).
That might explain why some people see better benchmarks and some don't.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 03:51:12 pm by eos »
 

Offline victorngcm

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #282 on: April 13, 2013, 04:28:58 pm »
Hi, everybody! Thanks for an interesting topic.
To me it is most interesting "mod GTX 680" to quadro k5000. Now I have no any graphics card based on the chipset gk104. Therefore, I am

free in its choice. The most promising option I see GTX 680 + 4GB mem. For K5000 is important to have the largest possible volume of onboard memory.

With only one such card was a successful experience modding. EVGA 04G-P4-3687-KR GeForce 4GB GTX 680 mod to K5000. Unfortunately, reefjunkie did not

described  the details of this mod. It is possible, P?B was the same as with GV-N680OC-2GD
I consider following variants of devices:

Gigabyte GV-N680OC-4GD
photo#1reverse side
photo#2 reverse side
photo#3 reverse side
photo#4 reverse side
photo front side
Unlike the GV-N680OC-2GD, Y1 repositioned to the rear side. Different connectors resistors. Independently I do not find their location.

ZOTAC GTX 680 4GB [ZT-60103-10P]
back side
front side
Video card similar to GV-N680OC-2GD. It is possible, it would be similar mod. The board kept the reference design. It is strange that nobody had chose it for the experiment.

EVGA GeForce GTX 680 FTW+ 4GB [04G-P4-3687-KR]
Pictures with a PCB-s I have not found. Mod executed by reefjunkie described here However, no description or photos of the device before and after mods. If it is possible, reefjunkie , please give more details.


So...that's not possible to mod a Gigabyte GTX 680 4G to a K5000?
 

Offline SeSl

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #283 on: April 13, 2013, 05:14:34 pm »
EVGA GeForce GTX 680 FTW+ 4GB [04G-P4-3687-KR]
Pictures with a PCB-s I have not found.
Here is one (taken from http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=1664376&mpage=1)
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b147/ArcticSilver/EVGA%20GTX%20680%20FTW%204Gb%20with%20Accelero%20Twin%20Turbo%20II/IMAG0212.jpg
It's identical to the 2GB one and I think this is the reason reefjunkie didn't elaborate on what was done.

Thank you! Now I see.

Gigabyte board is not a reference, they have redesigned it (look it has 6+8 pin power connector).
Zotac has a board with 6+6 as well as EVGA and PNY (which I believe are identical).

Zotac - yes (6+6), but  EVGA has 8+6 Power Design. There is also a variety of cards 680-series, made ??by EVGA. How to find out which of them is identical to the reference? In Russia sell two variants of 4Gb vers. EVGA GTX 680 04G-P4-3687-KR and EVGA GTX680 04G-P4-2686-KR.
PNY version I have excluded. It is not possible to buy somewhere near. Zotac vs EVGA?  Is the question. Why did not anyone binds to Zotac? On the other hand, 04G-P4-3687-KR has already tested in mod. Less risk, possible.


So...that's not possible to mod a Gigabyte GTX 680 4G to a K5000?
I have not said so. For me it is - a difficult task.
 

Offline shlomo.m

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #284 on: April 13, 2013, 09:37:35 pm »
I can confirm the mod done by blanka.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/hacking-nvidia-cards-into-their-professional-counterparts/msg210798/#msg210798
But I pimped it a little bit.

670GTX to K5000 works!

R4 on the front side.
R1, R2, R3 on the bottom side.

K5000 works absolutely stable for me, but has no performance increase in SPECviewperf. I tested with few different Quadro drivers.

Summary
GPU Name         R1 / 0-7 4th byte        R2 / 8-f 4th byte   R3/ 3th (high)   R4 / 3th (low)
GTX 660Ti          20K                            None                       None             25k
GTX 670            None                           10K                        None              25k
tesla k10           none                            40K                         None            25k
Quadro k5000    none                            15k                          40K            none
grid k2              none                            40K                          40K            none

I flashed it (EVGA 670GTX 2GB 915MHz) with the K5000 bios from techpowerup.
"nvflash.exe -4 -5 -6 K5000.rom" had to be used because of different subsystem and board id.

It started with minor pixel errors but booted into win7.
After driver installation and reboot win7 didn't start anymore.
Flashing it back worked without problems.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 09:52:06 pm by shlomo.m »
 

Offline eos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #285 on: April 13, 2013, 10:25:24 pm »
To those that successfully modded their cards and run benchmarks:

Could you download the NVIDIA Inspector from here
http://www.majorgeeks.com/NVIDIA_Inspector_d6630.html
and check what power state it is in when running the benchmark.

You might want to add the benchmark to the list of programs that force the card into the P0 state
http://www.overclock.net/t/964370/howto-dual-monitor-downclocking-fix-for-nvidia-cards
and run the benchmark again.
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #286 on: April 13, 2013, 10:50:47 pm »
and check what power state it is in when running the benchmark.

P0
« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 10:56:59 pm by verybigbadboy »
6'7''
 

Offline eos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #287 on: April 13, 2013, 11:37:03 pm »
P0
Have you noticed improvements when running SPECviewperf (where it suppose to be most visible)?
 

Offline SeSl

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #288 on: April 14, 2013, 05:35:30 am »
I can confirm the mod done by blanka.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/hacking-nvidia-cards-into-their-professional-counterparts/msg210798/#msg210798
But I pimped it a little bit.

670GTX to K5000 works!

R4 on the front side.
R1, R2, R3 on the bottom side.

K5000 works absolutely stable for me, but has no performance increase in SPECviewperf. I tested with few different Quadro drivers.

Summary
GPU Name         R1 / 0-7 4th byte        R2 / 8-f 4th byte   R3/ 3th (high)   R4 / 3th (low)
GTX 660Ti          20K                            None                       None             25k
GTX 670            None                           10K                        None              25k
tesla k10           none                            40K                         None            25k
Quadro k5000    none                            15k                          40K            none
grid k2              none                            40K                          40K            none

I flashed it (EVGA 670GTX 2GB 915MHz) with the K5000 bios from techpowerup.
"nvflash.exe -4 -5 -6 K5000.rom" had to be used because of different subsystem and board id.

It started with minor pixel errors but booted into win7.
After driver installation and reboot win7 didn't start anymore.
Flashing it back worked without problems.

Accept my congratulations!
This, of course, sadly, that the tests do not show the increase performance. For me this is important point. Card is needed to work with CATIA, in the case of a negative result, I'll be forced to take a real K5000 :-[ Apparently, as for many readers of this thread. In any case, thanks for the work done!
 

Offline WillV

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: us
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #289 on: April 14, 2013, 06:11:15 am »
Was wondering if there was anyone who has successfully got the EVGA GT 640 cards working?  I have the 4gb model of the one mentioned earlier and haven't been able to track down the area needed.  I've attached two pics of mine with the cooler removed.  The backside is identical to the pic posted earlier.  Any ideas or help is greatly appreciated.  I am also looking into this for a VMWare vSGA solution like others have mentioned.
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #290 on: April 14, 2013, 08:05:13 am »
Was wondering if there was anyone who has successfully got the EVGA GT 640 cards working?
Hi WillV,
Can you create photos near U10 sop-8 IC please, and post the link to back side?
Thank you.
6'7''
 

Offline WillV

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: us
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #291 on: April 14, 2013, 08:31:41 am »
Does this help?  I'll go ahead and post my pic of the back as well. 
 

Offline verybigbadboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: ru
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #292 on: April 14, 2013, 08:45:39 am »
Does this help?  I'll go ahead and post my pic of the back as well.
Sorry but trace is located under u10, It is imposible to find it without ohmmeter. You need to find resistor and resistor place connected to pin 6 of u10.
6'7''
 

Offline WillV

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: us
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #293 on: April 14, 2013, 08:50:04 am »
Ah, that gives me a starting point at least.  I'll see what I can find.  Thank you.
 

Offline myweb

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: by
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #294 on: April 14, 2013, 09:01:31 pm »
Dear All,

Could you please help me to make working configuration:
Core i5 i5-3470
Asrock z77 pro4
ASUS GT640-1GD3-L (mod Grid K1)
ASUS HD7750-DCSL-1GD5

Xen 4.2.1
Kubuntu 13.04 (Beta)
3.8.0-17-generic #27-Ubuntu SMP Sun Apr 7 19:39:35 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linu

The both videocards are working without Xen.
The both videocards are not working in DomU.
I tried DomU: Wondows 7, Windows 8, Kubuntu 13.04 (Beta)

I get BSOD during boot of ASUS HD7750-DCSL-1GD5 under Windows 7, 8 : atikmpag.sys
I tried to install only drivers (that is impossible to do with drivers from Ati website: windows could not find atikmpag.sys, I installed drivers from asus site)
Windows 8 has embedded driver.

I use xorg edgers ppa under ubuntu - exactly the same that works without Xen.
 

Offline zuluriney

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #295 on: April 15, 2013, 01:40:23 pm »
Hi,
first of all, great work :)

I will be getting a Zotac ZT-60106-10P GTX 680 with 4GB RAM soon-ish and proceed to start testing..
The goal is a K5000.

does anyone have experience with ZOTACs? do they keep reference layout?
if yes, do I need to Remove the cooler or are the resistors on the back side?

Thanks to everyone ^^

Cheers
 

Offline eos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #296 on: April 15, 2013, 06:25:16 pm »
I will be getting a Zotac ZT-60106-10P GTX 680 with 4GB RAM soon-ish and proceed to start testing..
The goal is a K5000.
Why don't you get a card that is known to be moddable?
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/hacking-nvidia-cards-into-their-professional-counterparts/msg210155/#msg210155
 

Offline blanka

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #297 on: April 16, 2013, 12:29:16 pm »
I can confirm the mod done by blanka.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/hacking-nvidia-cards-into-their-professional-counterparts/msg210798/#msg210798
But I pimped it a little bit.

670GTX to K5000 works!

R4 on the front side.
R1, R2, R3 on the bottom side.

K5000 works absolutely stable for me, but has no performance increase in SPECviewperf. I tested with few different Quadro drivers.

Summary
GPU Name         R1 / 0-7 4th byte        R2 / 8-f 4th byte   R3/ 3th (high)   R4 / 3th (low)
GTX 660Ti          20K                            None                       None             25k
GTX 670            None                           10K                        None              25k
tesla k10           none                            40K                         None            25k
Quadro k5000    none                            15k                          40K            none
grid k2              none                            40K                          40K            none

I flashed it (EVGA 670GTX 2GB 915MHz) with the K5000 bios from techpowerup.
"nvflash.exe -4 -5 -6 K5000.rom" had to be used because of different subsystem and board id.

It started with minor pixel errors but booted into win7.
After driver installation and reboot win7 didn't start anymore.
Flashing it back worked without problems.

Hi, shlomo:

Thanks for your update.  I am just too lazy to fine tune my workaround for those resistor.
About the reason your windows can't start up, it is because you use the original "K5000" firmnware
DO NOT USE ANY OTHER FIRMWARE EXCEPT THEY ARE FROM THE SAME LAYOUT
The original K5000 firmware is use for 4096MB board with GTX680 layout.
Since we are using GTX670/GTX660Ti, Use the original firmware and modify the PCI Device ID is enough.
Please be aware that EVGA's firmware has 2 place that contain its Device ID.
Please use Hex editor and search 8911(hex value of GTX670) and change it to BA11.
Then use KaplerBIOSTweaker to fix the checksum or any utility you like.
This will make the board run at K5000 smoothly without any problem since you didn't change the firmware at all!!!
 

Offline victorngcm

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #298 on: April 18, 2013, 01:14:02 am »
I can confirm the mod done by blanka.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/hacking-nvidia-cards-into-their-professional-counterparts/msg210798/#msg210798
But I pimped it a little bit.

670GTX to K5000 works!

R4 on the front side.
R1, R2, R3 on the bottom side.

K5000 works absolutely stable for me, but has no performance increase in SPECviewperf. I tested with few different Quadro drivers.

Summary
GPU Name         R1 / 0-7 4th byte        R2 / 8-f 4th byte   R3/ 3th (high)   R4 / 3th (low)
GTX 660Ti          20K                            None                       None             25k
GTX 670            None                           10K                        None              25k
tesla k10           none                            40K                         None            25k
Quadro k5000    none                            15k                          40K            none
grid k2              none                            40K                          40K            none

I flashed it (EVGA 670GTX 2GB 915MHz) with the K5000 bios from techpowerup.
"nvflash.exe -4 -5 -6 K5000.rom" had to be used because of different subsystem and board id.

It started with minor pixel errors but booted into win7.
After driver installation and reboot win7 didn't start anymore.
Flashing it back worked without problems.

Hi, shlomo:

Thanks for your update.  I am just too lazy to fine tune my workaround for those resistor.
About the reason your windows can't start up, it is because you use the original "K5000" firmnware
DO NOT USE ANY OTHER FIRMWARE EXCEPT THEY ARE FROM THE SAME LAYOUT
The original K5000 firmware is use for 4096MB board with GTX680 layout.
Since we are using GTX670/GTX660Ti, Use the original firmware and modify the PCI Device ID is enough.
Please be aware that EVGA's firmware has 2 place that contain its Device ID.
Please use Hex editor and search 8911(hex value of GTX670) and change it to BA11.
Then use KaplerBIOSTweaker to fix the checksum or any utility you like.
This will make the board run at K5000 smoothly without any problem since you didn't change the firmware at all!!!

The problem of mine is that I got a 4G gigabyte GTX 680....which is not the same as EVGA...I can't find the correct resistors on the board...
Could someone help please?
 

Offline amigo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 108
  • Professional Wannabe
Re: Hacking NVidia Cards into their Professional Counterparts
« Reply #299 on: April 18, 2013, 01:39:44 am »
The problem of mine is that I got a 4G gigabyte GTX 680....which is not the same as EVGA...I can't find the correct resistors on the board...
Could someone help please?

It should not make that much difference. What is the brand and model # of your card?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf