Author Topic: How China recycles  (Read 9318 times)

Offline chscholz

• Regular Contributor
    • Hioki USA website
Re: How China recycles
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 01:55:57 pm »
There is an interesting observation out there that used electronic components in some cases might be better than new ones:

Infant mortality of certain electronic components is highest when they are new and of course at the end of life of the component.
So if you use a e.g. one year old component the probability of failure can be significantly less than a new component.

For that reason one could argue that a used component should sell at a higher price than a new one.

Ironically, today's US laws prohibit vendors to sell product that contain used components, they are usually sold as, well,
used or refurbished, usually at a discounted price.
Don't trust me I work in marketing!

After a few years with LeCroy and R&S I work for HIOKI USA. If there is anything I can help with, please contact me.

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2011, 02:17:55 pm »
hehe, next time you buy a cheep reel of smt components from china you'll have to wonder...
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 02:19:59 pm by Psi »
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

Offline Ferroto

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2011, 02:32:00 pm »
I would never use a used component as there are only so many times they can be soldered and de-soldered before they die.

Offline sacherjj

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2011, 05:24:08 pm »
That looks like how I got components as a kid.  Never had lots of money, but with some work, I could get most of what I needed from cheap rebuild surplus boards from AllElectronics and other places.  A little desoldering and I'd have $20 worth of components from a $3 board. 

Offline Leo Bodnar

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2011, 05:32:08 pm »
hehe, next time you buy a cheep reel of smt components from china you'll have to wonder...