Author Topic: How to become a great expert in electronics? Best books?  (Read 7746 times)

Offline ElectronicsGeekTopic starter

• Contributor
  • !
How to become a great expert in electronics? Best books?
« on: July 11, 2017, 10:24:47 pm »
Hi all,

I love electronics a lot, and I have a bachelors in mathematics, currently doing a master's in microelectronics. We mostly do verilog system design, and integrated circuit design using cadence.

What I want to know is. I am currently 30, and so I am a bit behind on the electronics expertise, compared to some of those who did a bachelors in electronics, even though I am doing my best to catch up.

Electronics is such an extensive subject, it almost has no end, and SO MUCH has been done in the past 100 years that's almost unbelievable how much it has evolved.

I want to know what is the best I can do to become very great at electronics and an expert at it? Is it reading books and doing experiments? Can I become an expert by studying the theory from books and applying it by experiments? Or do I have to get a job in the field?

I think I'd like to be an academic and work inside a university, and teach, however I don't enjoy teaching, I would enjoy the research side.

What is the best book I can read to become an expert in general analog electronics? That is, building amplifiers, building Op amps (yes I want to build them), and so on? Is it the Art of Electronics the best book? Or is it some undergraduate textbook that is the best? If so which one?

I love chip design and thats the area I want to develop in and expert in. But before that I want to know almost all there is to know about general higher level electronics, that is, using the readymade components to build circuits.

So What's the best to do, and what's the best electronics book to read?

Thanks a lot! :)

Offline MK14

• Super Contributor
Re: How to become a great expert in electronics? Best books?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2017, 10:44:20 pm »