Author Topic: How to inline images in a post?  (Read 10326 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zapta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6004
  • Country: us
How to inline images in a post?
« on: September 29, 2013, 02:51:00 am »
I would like to post a mini review with few pictures. I figured out how to add images as attachments (example below) but not how to have them inline the text. I tried the Image button of the message editor but it just inserts an empty img tag.

Any help?

Thanks,

K.
Drain the swamp.
 

Offline mariush

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3645
  • Country: ro
  • .
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2013, 02:58:43 am »
Compose your message as you normally would, attach images, post the message.
Then view your post, click on each image to get the large size, right click and copy the url of each picture in Notepad or somewhere.
Then click modify on the post and put the urls where needed in img tags.
 

Offline IanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9485
  • Country: us
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2013, 03:03:59 am »
As mariush said, but even simpler. Each thumbnail image will be a link to the full sized image URL. So you just have to copy the link from the thumbnail and paste it between the image tags, like this:

[img]http://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/how-to-include-images-in-a-post/?action=dlattach;attach=61678;image[/img]

I'm not an EE--what am I doing here?
 

Offline Stonent

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3824
  • Country: us
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2013, 03:53:40 am »
Upload to imgur.com and copy the bbcode link. That's what I do.
The larger the government, the smaller the citizen.
 

Offline zapta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6004
  • Country: us
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2013, 04:29:30 am »
Thanks guys for the info. I think I get it now, a complete disconnect between the image upload feature and the image import feature.

That's Crazy!  Garbage! Two thumbs down!

  :-DD

Drain the swamp.
 

Offline Bored@Work

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3932
  • Country: 00
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2013, 04:37:37 am »
Thanks guys for the info. I think I get it now, a complete disconnect between the image upload feature and the image import feature.

That's Crazy!  Garbage! Two thumbs down!

  :-DD

Shhhhhh. Don't tell Dave that the Simple Machine forum software is pure rubbish.
I delete PMs unread. If you have something to say, say it in public.
For all else: Profile->[Modify Profile]Buddies/Ignore List->Edit Ignore List
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15059
  • Country: za
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2013, 05:08:54 am »
And please remember if you use a link to an external hosting site that gives BBCode to paste in the forum ( like Flickr) then use a small image as the default setting, so we do not have to deal with a 3kpixel image that is blurred and only shows a left side of the desk by default.
 
The following users thanked this post: BergRD

jucole

  • Guest
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2013, 05:41:43 am »
Thanks guys for the info. I think I get it now, a complete disconnect between the image upload feature and the image import feature.

That's Crazy!  Garbage! Two thumbs down!

  :-DD

Shhhhhh. Don't tell Dave that the Simple Machine forum software is pure rubbish.

It's not too bad - you have to set it up correctly for a typical browser width, but not sure this one is.  I did post a simple javascript fix to work with the large images in the "suggestions" topic - but no-one tried it;   Perhaps it's changed  in the newer versions of the SMFS codebase.
 

Offline MacAttak

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 682
  • Country: us
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2013, 06:53:00 am »
Upload to imgur.com and copy the bbcode link. That's what I do.

Yep +1 for this approach.

Less load on Dave's hosting too so it helps out everybody that way.

I will often paste the "bbcode + link" that wraps the image tag with a hyperlink so you can click through to the full-size image.
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29186
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2013, 08:13:12 am »
Less load on Dave's hosting too so it helps out everybody that way.

It also helps by reducing my daily backup size.
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29186
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2013, 08:14:51 am »
Shhhhhh. Don't tell Dave that the Simple Machine forum software is pure rubbish.

What's your suggestion then?
Do you really think I have a choice in it? No one is going to like me to change the forum to something else which will then have it's own set of issues.
If you don't like something on SMF, try and find a plugin that fixes it and I can install it.
 

Offline xrunner

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3844
  • Country: us
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>?
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2013, 10:09:41 am »
Shhhhhh. Don't tell Dave that the Simple Machine forum software is pure rubbish.

Uh - no it isn't. It's really very good.
I am a Test Equipment Addict (TEA) - by virtue of this forum signature, I have now faced my addiction
 

Offline zapta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6004
  • Country: us
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2013, 02:20:20 pm »
And please remember if you use a link to an external hosting site that gives BBCode to paste in the forum ( like Flickr) then use a small image as the default setting, so we do not have to deal with a 3kpixel image that is blurred and only shows a left side of the desk by default.

I typically scale down the images to 1000 pix width before uploading to forums (or imgur + linking).
Drain the swamp.
 

Offline zapta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6004
  • Country: us
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2013, 02:25:58 pm »
What's your suggestion then?
Do you really think I have a choice in it? No one is going to like me to change the forum to something else which will then have it's own set of issues.
If you don't like something on SMF, try and find a plugin that fixes it and I can install it.

Dave, have you looked here?

http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?action=search;type=7

E.g. this one

http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=1179
Drain the swamp.
 

jucole

  • Guest
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2013, 08:38:29 pm »
I found the link I was talking about in my previous post here..
www.eevblog.com/forum/suggestions/forum-inline-image-fix-suggestion/

and this is a simple utube showing the result of the quick hack to the code with both large and small images.


I do think it's quite convenient to have a 1-click popup for a larger view;  However you could bolt-on any custom display option you like;   for example, some of the forum posts are image sequences, like a teardown or project build;  so it would be really nice to add a captioned click-thru slideshow as an option.



[ The large demo image used was just a random one from google. ]

« Last Edit: September 29, 2013, 08:54:07 pm by jucole »
 

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5871
  • Country: 00
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2013, 10:59:02 pm »
Thanks God this is my fifth message...
Dave, isn't that five messages rule to access your contest quite crappy?  :blah:

Thanks God, one competitor to go, will show Dave this message just in case you won the contest.  >:D

Offline TMM

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 436
  • Country: au
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #16 on: October 07, 2013, 11:25:00 pm »
Dave, isn't that five messages rule to access your contest quite crappy?  :blah:
not as crappy as the influx of people spamming the forum just so they can enter the contest.

way to thread dig as well.
 

Offline IZ3IJG

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: it
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #17 on: October 08, 2013, 12:42:27 am »
Dave, isn't that five messages rule to access your contest quite crappy?
not as crappy as the influx of people spamming the forum just so they can enter the contest.

way to thread dig as well.
That's *exactly* what I meant...
 

Offline TMM

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 436
  • Country: au
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #18 on: October 08, 2013, 01:30:23 am »
There are plenty of active threads where you could use your five posts to make a useful contribution, or at the very least add some kind of passive compliment (what all the other newbs seem to be doing atm). Instead, you chose to dig a week old dead thread, adding nothing of value and openly admitting you were spamming the forum just so you could enter the contest. Well done.
 

Offline TheEPROM9

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Country: gb
  • I have a Kali USB and I'm not afraid to use it!
    • EPROM 9 Home
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #19 on: June 13, 2018, 05:41:17 am »
<a data-flickr-embed="true"  href="https://www.flickr.com/photos/146977913@N06/35138775811/in/dateposted/" title="Mainframe Card 43A16"><img src="https://farm5.staticflickr.com/4237/35138775811_a2bccad61d_k.jpg" width="2048" height="1363" alt="Mainframe Card 43A16">[/url]<script async src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js" charset="utf-8"></script>



Test
TheEPROM9 (The Husky Hunter Collectors inc.)
Knowledge should be sheared freely to those who want it.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/146977913@N06/ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4vOnjz1G-aM8LddSbrK1Vg https://www.facebook.com/groups/118910608126229/
 

Offline TheEPROM9

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Country: gb
  • I have a Kali USB and I'm not afraid to use it!
    • EPROM 9 Home
Re: How to inline images in a post?
« Reply #20 on: June 13, 2018, 05:43:51 am »


Mainframe Card 43A16 by Simon Lyne, on Flickr

See if this works?
« Last Edit: June 13, 2018, 05:48:09 am by TheEPROM9 »
TheEPROM9 (The Husky Hunter Collectors inc.)
Knowledge should be sheared freely to those who want it.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/146977913@N06/ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4vOnjz1G-aM8LddSbrK1Vg https://www.facebook.com/groups/118910608126229/
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf