Author Topic: I hate Telstra  (Read 11397 times)

Offline gnifTopic starter

• Administrator
I hate Telstra
« on: June 09, 2013, 02:16:17 am »
As many of you would already be aware of, I am a professional server administrator working from home. As such my internet connection is critical to my operation. For the past 5 years I have been submitting an ADSL2 upgrade request to Telstra in the hopes that either they would upgrade their hardware, or someone stopped using their ADSL and freed up a port.

Now this is the part that bugs the crap out of me... A friend moved into a place that is less then 4kms from me, and got ADSL2+ on the spot, no questions asked. You might say that this is because he is closer to a different exchange, etc... but no, there is only one Exchange for our area being in the Blue Mountains. The only difference I can figure is that he lives in the more expensive area where all the politicians live, or it is because he went with Bigpond.

So basically I have two questions:

1) Is Telstra allowed to reserve ADSL2+ ports for their own ISP? My ISP is reselling Telstra, but is not Telstra.
2) Any suggestions on how to get my ADSL2+ other then playing port lotto?

Offline justanothercanuck

• Frequent Contributor
  • Doing retro repairs...
Re: I hate Telstra
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2013, 02:34:10 am »
Being a reseller, in Canada at least...  you're basically at the mercy of the incumbent.

Can't switch to cable?
Maintain your old electronics!  If you don't preserve it, it could be lost forever!

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2013, 02:40:24 am »
Being a reseller, in Canada at least...  you're basically at the mercy of the incumbent.

Can't switch to cable?
Not available in my area, only ADSL. There is a national broadband network (NBN) rolling out that brings fibre to the house, but my area does not even have a scheduled deployment date, which means that it will be many years before we see it.

Offline digsys

• Supporter
    • DIGSYS