Author Topic: I need a new technology-oriented hobby  (Read 10025 times)

Offline illusiveTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I need a new technology-oriented hobby
« on: November 03, 2016, 08:14:22 pm »
Hello everybody!
I want to try learning some new technology area and i need some guidance. My goal has always been and it is to eventually make my hobby a profession. I'm 22 now and since an early age i've been tinkering with electronics and making all kinds of projects - power supplies, audio amplifiers, portable speakers, color organs and so on. I've even been learning that as a high school student and now i'm studying automation, information and control systems as my university degree.
But recently i've been noticing that the classic electronics as a hobby is changing and i am getting a bit depressed that i need to catch the wave so to speak. Everything is becoming more and more embedded and i need something to keep me interested.
My problem is that i am confused on what should i focus my interest on. I've always been interested in computers (mainly hardware), linux, electronics (obviously), a bit of programming and recently i'm getting into microcontrollers (atmel avr's). So i'm trying to combine all of those things and the most obvious thing that pops up in my mind is IoT. The IoT is of course a very broad subject, with many different areas of specializations and the most logical thing is to get myself in the more hardware site of it. So far so good but here comes the next problem - where do i start? Strictly learning microcontrollers (but which ones, avr, pic, texas instruments?), FPGA's, ARM, getting into Raspberry Pi (linux, programming, pc, microcontroller-like stuff, seems to be all the jazz) or something else ?
I'm not going to abandon classic electronics, i just feel like i now enough of the basic stuff so i can use them to branch out and try something new and useful in the future.

Offline Ampera

• Super Contributor
    • Ampera's Forums