Author Topic: I now have faster Interwebs  (Read 15517 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 32911
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
I now have faster Interwebs
« on: January 10, 2013, 11:48:32 pm »
Just upgraded to Telstra Bigpond Ultimate cable plan, and now have more than double my upload speed!  :-+

Before:


After:


Dave.
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 32911
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 11:52:57 pm »
For those interested, this is what it's like to a server in San Jose:


And San Fran:


Dave.
 

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7095
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2013, 11:54:52 pm »
Wow, and the gap between up and down widens even further. I thought we were past stupidly asynchronous connections.

« Last Edit: January 10, 2013, 11:57:05 pm by Monkeh »
 

Offline Sionyn

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 848
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2013, 12:07:52 am »
6Mb down
48K up
eecs guy
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15555
  • Country: za
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2013, 05:42:19 am »
1Megabit down, 512kbits up............... An improvement over earlier the year 384kbit down and 64kbit up.
 

Offline Kibi

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
  • Country: england
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2013, 09:26:32 am »
1Megabit down, 512kbits up............... An improvement over earlier the year 384kbit down and 64kbit up.

You guys really are moving up in the world :) That's a pretty good link for SA. When we had 1Mb down, they only gave up 128Mb up. Zim is improving now with WiMAX. Three cities have got it, but it is mentally expensive. WiMAX suits Zimbabwe because there are no cables to steal. :)
Over here though, even with 120Mb down, we still only get 3Mb up.
 

Offline bullet308

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 341
  • Country: us
  • Jack of All Trades, Master of None Related to EE
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2013, 10:29:43 am »


This is to a server a whopping 60 miles away.  :-/

Listened to a story on National Public Radio yesterday about how the US has allowed its connectivity to the Internet be monopolized by a handful of telecom companies and how the service we get is an overpriced joke.  Welcome to the New Gilded Age...
>>>BULLET>>>
 

Offline TerraHertz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3798
  • Country: au
  • Why shouldn't we question everything?
    • It's not really a Blog
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2013, 10:49:11 am »
Sigh. Speed via Optus cable in the wilds of Sth Sydney:
Collecting old scopes, logic analyzers, and unfinished projects. http://everist.org
 

Offline bullet308

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 341
  • Country: us
  • Jack of All Trades, Master of None Related to EE
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2013, 10:52:01 am »
Is it possible that Oz is even more screwed over than the US?
>>>BULLET>>>
 

Offline justanothercanuck

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 391
  • Country: ca
  • Doing retro repairs...
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2013, 12:21:21 pm »
Wow, and the gap between up and down widens even further. I thought we were past stupidly asynchronous connections.

Nope.  Even in North America, we're stuck with stupidly low upload speeds.  They'll say it's because of pirating stuff, but they really don't want us creating our own content.
Maintain your old electronics!  If you don't preserve it, it could be lost forever!
 

Offline Otatiaro

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 85
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2013, 12:43:38 pm »
Hello,



I have 100Mbps symetrical ... but speedtest is using only one thread for testing. I have 100Mbps+ when using multiple threads (e.g. on my FTP server).

Need something to be hosted ? :D

That's between me and Sydney :



Wow ... 10 000 miles !

A few months ago Orange connected me to an experimental project, didn't take a screenshot, but I downloaded Skyrim from Steam at 43.2MB/s (bytes, not bits) ... unfortunately they had to disconnect me :( but they will soon offer this bandwidth at a premium, probably too expensive for me.

Thomas.

PS : and that's the Italian server we use for mshbrain.com, look at the ping ;)

« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 12:52:34 pm by Otatiaro »
 

Offline flolic

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 362
  • Country: hr
    • http://filiplolic.com/
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2013, 01:25:49 pm »
At work  :P

 

Offline TerraHertz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3798
  • Country: au
  • Why shouldn't we question everything?
    • It's not really a Blog
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2013, 01:29:59 pm »
Is it possible that Oz is even more screwed over than the US?

Never! And soon we'll have a government designed, built and operated 'national broadband network' to bring us all the benefits of total government monopoly control. Would you like an Aussie Great Firewall to go with that fiber?

(I probably exaggerate the bit about 'government designed & operated'. I have no idea how it's being structured, as I've been deliberately looking away. There's enough horror in the news already. We can trust the government to serve their own best interests. And that sure doesn't include an uncensored public internet.)
Collecting old scopes, logic analyzers, and unfinished projects. http://everist.org
 

Offline madires

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6024
  • Country: de
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2013, 01:50:27 pm »
If you start to complain about poor server performance when downloading, then you got a fast internet connection ;-)

PS: Around 13 years ago I had about 60-80Gbit/s symmetrically. Even my PC was too slow to handle that :-)
 

Offline Lightages

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 4303
  • Country: ca
  • Canadian po
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2013, 05:18:27 pm »
Here in the middle of nowhere in the Atacama Desert in Chile:


I believe this is costing my friend around $800 per month.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 05:20:41 pm by Lightages »
 

Offline tom66

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4359
  • Country: gb
  • Electron Fiddler, FPGA Hacker, Embedded Systems EE
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2013, 05:30:18 pm »
Free University internet provided in dorms.


Limited to 5Mbit/s continuous, but lets you burst to 20Mbit/s for 5 seconds or so.
Reasonably even speeds, fast ping, costs me only £3,900 a year.
 

Offline mianchen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2013, 01:49:41 pm »
mine is '100Mbps' Virgin Media...... never seen it reach 95M+  :(

 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 15745
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #17 on: January 12, 2013, 01:59:56 pm »
why are most of the images missing in this thread ?

I started life on the internet on a 50Kbps over a GPRS phone and later upgraded to a 384Kbps connection that only worked "fast" at night.

Back in the UK any speed is good for me.
 

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7095
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #18 on: January 12, 2013, 02:12:48 pm »
why are most of the images missing in this thread ?

They're not.
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 15745
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #19 on: January 12, 2013, 03:07:28 pm »
hm, I have them too now looks like the connection at my dad's is well crooked.
 

Offline ftransform

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 729
  • Country: 00
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #20 on: January 12, 2013, 03:09:26 pm »
british slang never ceases to amuse me.
 

Offline jamesp15

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Country: us
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #21 on: January 12, 2013, 05:37:28 pm »
From just outside Washington DC (cable internet)

To just up the road a bit:


To Sydney Australia:


IMO not bad for ~$50 a month after taxes and all.
 

Offline G7PSK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3745
  • Country: gb
  • It is hot until proved not.
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #22 on: January 12, 2013, 06:13:31 pm »
This is the best I have ever seen on my connection, I am just on 3 miles from the exchange on copper wire that was put up in the late 1930's.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2431760913.png
 

Offline Neilm

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1493
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #23 on: January 12, 2013, 10:51:14 pm »
Here is what I get in deepest Kent (UK)
Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe. - Albert Einstein
Tesla referral code https://ts.la/neil53539
 

Offline richms

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #24 on: January 13, 2013, 10:10:48 am »
I'm at the limit for VDSL, this is what I get -

Mainly want it for the upload, I get unmetered between 1 and 7am so do most of my FTPing and rsyncing at those times.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf