Author Topic: I now have faster Interwebs  (Read 15519 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline TheWelly888

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 342
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #25 on: January 13, 2013, 12:36:16 pm »
Mine's a piss-poor ADSL!  |O

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2433186372.png

Slower than 59% of the UK!!!!  :=\
You can do anything with the right attitude and a hammer.
 

Offline M. András

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1020
  • Country: hu
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #26 on: January 13, 2013, 02:55:47 pm »

the isp is DIGI dunno why it says tvnetwork in usd approx 20-30bucks optic fibre (gpon)

to sydney selected telstra

to oxford just picked a dot on the map :)
 

Offline AndyC_772

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3801
  • Country: gb
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #27 on: January 13, 2013, 03:35:15 pm »
I thought I was only paying for 30Mbps, so I'm rather pleased with this result:



I knew we were due an upgrade, looks like it's happened sooner than I expected  :-+

Offline metalphreak

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 815
  • Country: au
  • http://d.av.id.au
    • D.av.id.AU
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #28 on: January 13, 2013, 04:01:21 pm »
I managed to hit 50mbps down and 10mbps up on my freaking phone on LTE. Yet I'm still stuck on 10/1mbps ADSL2+ at home  ::) Too bad mobile data is so expensive haha (and mobile speeds drop dramatically when everyone starts to use ).

Offline grumpydoc

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2821
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #29 on: January 13, 2013, 04:29:29 pm »
37Mbps down & 8Mbps up here on an FTTC line - just long (or short) enough to get 40Mbps but almost certainly not worth paying the extra for the 80/20 service. The modem was reporting something like 46/12 possible. Perhaps I'll wait until BT implement vectoring on FTTC (probably 2014 or 2015) and then look at whether it's worth paying for the upgrade.
 

Online mariush

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4085
  • Country: ro
  • .
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #30 on: January 13, 2013, 04:38:33 pm »
Well, I can't complain... 100/6 anywhere on cable.





Actually only complain is 6 mbps is not enough but it's the most this ISP is willing to give atm.
 

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7095
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #31 on: January 13, 2013, 04:39:32 pm »
I'd rather have my 40/10 than 100/6 any day. Coming up from 20/1, it's quite an improvement!
 

Offline JoannaK

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 337
  • Country: fi
    • Diytao making blog
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #32 on: January 13, 2013, 05:00:00 pm »
I started life on the internet on a 50Kbps over a GPRS phone and later upgraded to a 384Kbps connection that only worked "fast" at night.

Well.. Admitting to be old fart .. but starting with 300bps and 1200/75 bps depending of the servive called..
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15555
  • Country: za
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #33 on: January 13, 2013, 05:05:31 pm »
I think I still have one of those 1200/75 modems around still somewhere............ Needs a phone to dial the number and manual connection.
 

Offline RJSC

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Country: pt
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #34 on: January 13, 2013, 05:45:45 pm »
Well, I just hate asymmetrical connections.

I have a small home server 6Mbps Down 512 kbps up...
The upstream band is useless if I want to get anything out of my home server while outside.

Its a 2.4 km ADSL2+ line, the SNR on the downstream is the bare minimum to keep it running at night, but I've got an SNR of 25 dB on the upstream and the ISP refuses to provide me something like 6Mbps down 1Mbps or 2 Mbps up.
That I cannot understand...
 

Offline Chalky

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 93
  • Country: nz
I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #35 on: January 13, 2013, 06:21:27 pm »
Well, I just hate asymmetrical connections.

I have a small home server 6Mbps Down 512 kbps up...
The upstream band is useless if I want to get anything out of my home server while outside.

Its a 2.4 km ADSL2+ line, the SNR on the downstream is the bare minimum to keep it running at night, but I've got an SNR of 25 dB on the upstream and the ISP refuses to provide me something like 6Mbps down 1Mbps or 2 Mbps up.
That I cannot understand...
Some of the 'business grade' offerings from Telcos are at least symmetric, over copper, might be worth checking out, but probably much more expensive than home ADSL.
 

Offline m0jo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #36 on: January 14, 2013, 04:24:26 am »
I think I can't complain anymore:
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 15745
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #37 on: January 14, 2013, 06:46:08 am »
I think I can't complain anymore:


wow, if only, not sure what I'd do with it though
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 32911
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #38 on: January 14, 2013, 12:37:44 pm »
I think I can't complain anymore:

wow, if only, not sure what I'd do with it though

I'd be on cloud 9 for a week, and then start complaining it's too slow!
Content expands to suck the available bandwidth.

Dave.
 

Offline justanothercanuck

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 391
  • Country: ca
  • Doing retro repairs...
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #39 on: January 14, 2013, 01:10:38 pm »
I think I can't complain anymore:


How did you get such high upload speeds on bell?
Maintain your old electronics!  If you don't preserve it, it could be lost forever!
 

Offline nack

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: nl
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #40 on: January 14, 2013, 02:06:42 pm »
Hmmmm think I can't complain at all over here in The Netherlands on wifi that is...

 

Offline lapm

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 558
  • Country: fi
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #41 on: January 14, 2013, 02:56:39 pm »
I live in Finland and heres my connection specs:

8 Mbs down, 1 Mbs up

And thats only becouse i live in old house complex with old wireing... would otherwise get 24/2 here... Well maybe when they finally manage to pull fiber in this neibourhood i can upgrade it...
Electronics, Linux, Programming, Science... im interested all of it...
 

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7095
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #42 on: January 14, 2013, 03:52:17 pm »
I think I can't complain anymore:

wow, if only, not sure what I'd do with it though

I'd be on cloud 9 for a week, and then start complaining it's too slow!
Content expands to suck the available bandwidth.

Dave.

You might be surprised. I can get around 63/17 if I pay more, but... 40/10 is more than quick enough, really. Worlds better than 20/1!
 

Offline grumpydoc

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2821
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #43 on: January 14, 2013, 04:19:10 pm »
Quote
Worlds better than 20/1!

There was a time when I'd have killed - OK, maybe not quite that far :) - for 20/1

My phone line is about 5km long, the "natural" sync was typically 1.5Mbps down and 400kbps up - however the one "good" thing about the line is that it is largely underground so there wasn't much diurnal variation in the noise figure. Thus, with very careful tweaking of the target SNRM, I was able to get about 3Mbps down.

Prior to that I had ISDN because the fastest a modem would go was about 20kbps. I suspect the line was marginal for ISDN even and some "hand picking" of pairs was involved.

Mind you I counted myself lucky to get that much out of ADSL - there are still plenty of people in the UK who have local loops much longer than mine.
 

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7095
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #44 on: January 14, 2013, 04:23:11 pm »
Quote
Worlds better than 20/1!

There was a time when I'd have killed - OK, maybe not quite that far :) - for 20/1

Oh, believe me, I nearly went on a killing spree at BT for it. They delayed the upgrade for four years.

Quote
Mind you I counted myself lucky to get that much out of ADSL - there are still plenty of people in the UK who have local loops much longer than mine.

I'm well aware, most of them live within 20 minutes of me. :) Many of my friends are still struggling to get a reliable connection at all, let alone a fast one.
 

Offline Galenbo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1465
  • Country: be
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #45 on: January 14, 2013, 05:37:57 pm »
Belgium: 50eur/month for this:

If you try and take a cat apart to see how it works, the first thing you have on your hands is a nonworking cat.
 

Offline m0jo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #46 on: January 14, 2013, 07:54:19 pm »
I think I can't complain anymore:

How did you get such high upload speeds on bell?
It's with their Fibe service(FTTH). The other speed available is 175/175 mbits.
 

Offline justanothercanuck

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 391
  • Country: ca
  • Doing retro repairs...
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #47 on: January 14, 2013, 10:36:46 pm »
How did you get such high upload speeds on bell?
It's with their Fibe service(FTTH). The other speed available is 175/175 mbits.
Most I've seen them offer is 25/7.  Oh wait, it looks like it's 25/10 now.  If they really do offer 50/50 on a mass scale, they're probably the first in Canada.  :-//
Maintain your old electronics!  If you don't preserve it, it could be lost forever!
 

Offline lewis

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 705
  • Country: gb
  • Nullius in verba
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #48 on: January 15, 2013, 12:07:59 am »
Naaaaaaarrfuk:
I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed or numbered.
 

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7095
  • Country: gb
Re: I now have faster Interwebs
« Reply #49 on: January 15, 2013, 12:23:36 am »
Naaaaaaarrfuk:


Not to mention TalkCrap.

My phone goes faster.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf